We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways Nairobi to your Saves list
Hemingways Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A fabulous hotel on the outskirts of busy Nairobi. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are spectacular. Service given by the front desk, room attendants and restaurant staff is amazing. We loved our dinner, the steaks are among the best we have ever enjoyed. Breakfast on our terrace, overlooking the grounds was excellent. We only stayed one night, before departing to catch a flight to the Masai Mara. Wish we could have spent more time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear LucyH49

We are delighted to receive your positive feedback and look forward to your next visit when hopefully you can enjoy more of our facilities such as the spa.

Best Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    24
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
55
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My visit was for lunch rather than staying in this new addition to the Nairobi hotel scene so must be viewed with that in mind. However, I was expecting something special given the hype that had preceded the opening of the place to stay if you wanted to experience the magic that Karen Blixen described in Out of Africa,
The hotel is set in wonderful surroundings with (from the upper floor) a spectacular view of the Ngong Hills.

However the design is mediocre although an attempt has been made to glamorize this by painting the outside a menthol green. The interiors are standard South African fare (brown, brown and brown) and attempt to suggest a Hollywood in Africa glamour. It is all a bit too nouveau riche to pull off the old world charm of the real Karen mystique.

The view from the main verandah where you can eat facing the Ngongs is marred by a water feature that is less than dramatic. The detailing of the external areas suggests that the project ran out of funds when nearing completion.

The service was keen if somewhat lacking in training but no harm there as the staff learn the ropes.

The meal we had was reasonable but in a town where we are used to excellent value it was overpriced for what it was.

I have delayed writing the review hoping that on reflection, I would be able to be more positive but the reality is that I have no great desire to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Simon J

Many thanks for your feedback. I am glad that you appreciated the willingness to please of our service team. In terms of value we are the leaders in our competitor set; it is something we closely monitor.

We hope you will revisit us for a meal in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My fiance treated me to a birthday lunch at Hemingways on the 14th of October. The food was stunning, the service was impeccable and the setting perfect. Many thanks to Alastair Addison (the perfect host) the CEO for a complimentary bottle of chilled Italian white which was ideal on a hot Nairobi day. Johnnie McMillan

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Johnnie

We are very glad you enjoyed your birthday lunch with us, we constantly strive to maintain our exacting standards and it is good to know we are achieving that.

Please do visit us again.

Best regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have to say the BEST hotel in Nairobi by far. Arrived late in the evening after a very long flight to arrive at my new all time Favorite hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated extremely comfortable and very luxurious. So much so I did not want to leave it was so comfortable. Loved the private balcony over looking the immaculately maintained grounds. The food was fabulous some of the best I have ever had. The bar upstairs was lovely in the evening with a beautiful view overlooking the grounds & fountains. The lobby is stunning very elegant yet very comfortable along with the lovely patio area. There are many things about this property that make it exceptional the one stand out is the exceptional Staff. Every single person I encountered at this property was exceptional. They are all extremely professional yet very friendly & warm extremely kind. I can not say enough about the Staff I loved every single person I came into contact with. As for things to do you can visit the Giraffe Center down the road and a Must see is The David Sheldrick Wildlife Nursery which has a public viewing daily at 11:00 am the cost is $7.00. The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust is a haven for orphaned elephants. Hemingway's can arrange a driver for you to take you anywhere you want to go.
There was only one thing wrong with my stay. It was not long enough. Can't wait to go back! A very special Thank You to David, Samson, Nathan, Godfrey & especially Rogers. You made my trip that more special. Also very important when you look at their website what you see is what you get. Finally a property that delivers with beautiful & stunning lobby & elegant rooms. Extremely relaxing location.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Possibly the best hotel in Nairobi! The rooms and grounds were spectacular and the service superb - even at 04:00 am when we arrived. I had a pretty rapid turnaround so wasn't able to take advantage of the facilities but I can say that breakfast was excellent. Now I just need to get back there as soon as possible!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hotel is great: modern, high standard, clean, great service, good food, beautiful and easily 5* Western standard. No issues with the property whatsoever (and the staff is amazing!). Restaurant serves great food (also Western) from an apparently Michelin star chef. Only downside of the property is location - it is located in a residential area (Karen) which is nice (expat and VIPs area) but far from the city center. There is not much around (few nice restaurants and a bar), but not any major action.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My partner and I went for Sunday lunch. The hotel itself is beautiful, and tastefully decorated, with views overlooking the Ngong hills.
However we were disappointed with the food. Our vegetarian samosas were beef, something the chef overlooked. My red snapper fish was unseasoned and inedible. It was very tough. Maybe microwaved then flash fried. However the pear and Stilton salad was lovely. The chips very greasy, but tasty.
My partner had sirloin steak which he said was tasty but again tough. We ordered cappuccino to finish made with either soya milk or semi skimmed. This international hotel had neither, which we found surprising in this day and age of intolerances! Overall a mixed review, could do better for the pricing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Louise C

We regret that your meal with us was not to your liking and request that you give us another try. Additionally I can confirm that we have the range of milk options you refer to in stock; thanks for the feedback.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.