We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karura House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karura House
Save Saved
You added Karura House to your Saves list
221 Ruaka Rd | P.O Box 10001, Nairobi 00400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I spend two nights at Karura House. I couldn't choose better!!! The room was very big, with the amazing view of the gardens, the breakfast was great and the people too (Muthoni, Erik...). I felt like at home. I had also the opportunity to cook during the day in its full equipped kitchen. Very quiet and close to UN compound (just 15 min walking).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karura H, Manager at Karura House, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Igone,

It was such a great pleasure hosting you!

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Karura House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Karura House for one whole month in August 2012, while looking for a house in Nairobi. We absolutely loved the place and the family, and could well have stayed on for even longer. At that time the family rented out two rooms, one with a private entrance and one in the main part of the house itself. We stayed in the latter room, which was cosy and quite spacious with a view of the garden and the swimming pool. Apart from our own room, we could also freely use other parts of the big and nicely furnished house: the TV room, living room with fire place, office, kitchen and of course the amazing garden and swiming pool.

The breakfast was always big and delicious, and coffee/tea and cake/snacks were served throughout the day whenever we wished so. In the evenings we could cook our own dinner in the kitchen, and could invite friends over for drinks on the patio. Staying at the Karura House really felt like being at home, not the least because of the extremely warm and welcoming atmosphere created by all the family members and staff. We greatly enjoyed the many shared moments with them and also received plenty of good advice regarding Nairobi and life in Kenya.

Overall, if you are looking for a friendly, comfortable and affordable homestay close to the UN and other Gigiri offices, this could well be the best option.

Pia & Matts

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karura H, Manager at Karura House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Pia and Matts,

It was such an absolute pleasure to host you and more importantly to make friends with you!

Thank you for the detailed feedback and we would love to host you again ;)

Warm Regards,

Karura House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Lilongwe, Malawi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Karura house makes you feel at home in Nairobi with a full breakfast in the morning, snacks, tea, and a delicious dinner with greens from their gardens. The room was comfortable and offered a warm bath. The UN Complex is only a 20 minute walk away, or a 5-10 minute taxi ride. The family is wonderful, accommodating, and great company. I thoroughly recommend staying here for business trips.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karura H, Manager at Karura House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Molly,

It was a real pleasure to host you!
We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in a Nairobi!

Warm Regards,
Karura House Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A very welcoming place that will make you feel like home. Great breakfast made just for you. Beautiful and peaceful backyard. I wish I had time to enjoy the pool. Ideal if you are on a business trip for a UN conference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karura H, Manager at Karura House, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you Claire for your review.
It was a delight to host you and welcome again !

Warm Regards,

Karura House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karura House

Address: 221 Ruaka Rd | P.O Box 10001, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karura House is located on the hilltops of the Karura Forest with sprawling views. It is set amidst blooming gardens and is located only 5 minutes away from the UN headquarters,Village Market and numerous embassies. We have double, en-suite rooms. Breakfast is tailored to your tastes with the option of a full English breakfast or continental Breakfast. There is also unlimited access to wireless internet and access to the swimming pool facility and gardens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karura House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.