We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3D theatre in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imax

Imax
Mama Ngina Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254 737 55 88 02
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Fun & Games in Nairobi
Attraction details
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“3D theatre in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

previously 20th century, it used to be my favourite movie theatre cos of its location and selection of movies. When it became Imax i was there at the opening party and i couldnt wait to watch my first movie in 3D!
The good thing about imax is first of all its location, right in the middle of town so its quite accessible from any side. The theatre itself is larger than any other i have been to and the screen is also huge. Very comfortable seats and leg space, great sound and of course its the only 3D movie theatre thats bound to be worth your money. They however dont allow food from outside just like many other theatres but they have everything right outside the theatre that you would possibly want to munch on before, during and after a movie.
If you watch a movie at Imax, its hard to go to another theatre after, cos its simply the best!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middelharnis Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome 3D movie experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We decided to take it a little easy one day and went to the IMAX and saw "Hansel and Grettal: Witch hunters" in 3D, very good movie in 3D but I love the IMAX movies anyway.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“New Upgraded Cinema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Imax cinema is amazing. It gives the real deal in movie entertainment, with real 3D features. Good spot to enjoy with friends and family.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Frequent IMAX-er”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I go to the IMAX theater a lot for both the 2G and 3G movies. It is the best way to watch a movie. Their rates are pretty reasonable depending on the times you choose to go, but the experience is worth it. My boyfriend and I frequent this theater although we are pretty bummed that they do not show all the movies that are released, but instead just one or two and so if you're a movie-lover like us, it sucks to wait for the current movies to complete their cycle and wait for the new movies to come in. They need to to do something about this - maybe another screen????

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

great price (no more than $4) ,large screen, great sound....great all round movie experience. Safe location in heart of city too. Worth the visit

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imax also viewed

 

Been to Imax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.