We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the others...?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria

Galleria
Junction of Langata & Magadi Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254720650869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Malls
Attraction Details
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just like the others...?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The mall was a bit average compared to, say, Westgate. It has the same feel to it as Junction, so if you've been to one, you've basically seen the other one. It's also smaller.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shopping Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As modern shopping centres go it wasn't bad. My daughter and I managed to get a manicure and pedicure without booking, we got a Kenyan simm sorted, had a pleasant lunch and checked out the books and went back briefly a second time, for the cashpoints.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Galleria Mall Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Although I am a frequent visitor to Nairobi this was my first actual visit to Galleria Mall. It is a very pleasant shopping mall with a good range of shops. The Nakumatt is certainly one of the better Nakumatts and the other shops make it worth while paying a visit. There is a nice rnage of places to eat and the Java is particularly nice with a large outside seating area simiar to the one at The Junction Mall. A very very large, secure & well maintained car park helps with the experience.

It is certainly worth a visit should you be in Nairobi.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Probably the best "typical" mall in East Africa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If U R homesick for the Edmonton Mall (the world's largest) or the Mall of America (#2), then this is an OK place to visit. If you want to visit Africa this is not the place.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pretty Decent Place to Shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Now, for perspective, we're living in Ethiopia so our perspective may be off for people visiting from other places. But, there's a pretty decent selection of clothing, electronics, sporting goods stores and restaurants. We were particularly excited about the frozen yogurt store. The prices aren't cheap but it was nice to see the large selection.

Also, the Galleria's location in the Karen section of Nairobi keeps you out of downtown Nairobi traffic. That said, there's currently major road construction in the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galleria also viewed

 

Been to Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Galleria to your Saves list