We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nile perch = excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Brasserie

Sierra Brasserie
Yaya Center, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 347 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nile perch = excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The restaurant is on top of the roof, but the view is not splendid unless you stick your head above the wall. It is possible to sit outside and inside, the place is reasonably clean, toilets are ok, there was a wifi but extremely unstable. Service was not bad, the girl offered a sip of juice to taste is for sugar so I could know what to order. The prices are very reasonable, especially for a place that probably aims to be at least a bit posh - cappuccino is 200 KES (they do not serve house coffee, only machine coffee, which is a huge downside for me) and so is the cocktail juice (they allegedly squeeze and make juices in the restaurant). Main course is 900, there are combos (main course, starters, salads, deserts) that are very affordable, the complete menu lunch being around 1800 KES per person. Nile perch with potatoes was really excellent and would go there any time to have it again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food and Good Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Sierra is a lovely place to go for drinks or for a meal. They offer a good selection of meals from their aged beef burgers and steak to seafood and also vegetarian options, not to mention their desserts. These guys know what they are doing. On top of that they brew their own beer and it's splendid! If you want a quiet dinner you can sit inside and they also have an outside area where you can smoke.
They can work on the service a little more but overall a good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, craft beer and very affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have eaten at Sierra both as a family with our three kids (they love the burgers and the calamari!) as well as just the two of us for a quiet night. Really great food and very reasonably priced. The Sierra beer is very good as are the house wines, from South Africa. The servers are very good and friendly, we have always had good food and service and would highly recommend it as a destination for dinner or lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I had a quiet dinner for two here last night and as always they did not disappoint. The food was amazing and we loved everything we ordered. My compliments to the chef.
Our server, Ben Odhiambo, gave us excellent service. He was very attentive and helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Had a great chicken panini. Food was really good, the price even better. The only complaint is the service. The two times I went there the orders were mixed up and took a really long. All in all loved the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Brasserie also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Sierra Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.