We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great micro brewery beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Brasserie

Sierra Brasserie
Yaya Center, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great micro brewery beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you are in the centre of town and want a beer that is not Tusker then head up to the Sierra Brasserie in the Ya Ya Centre. Serves great beers and good food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food is OK but service is getting bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Food used to be good here. I went yesterday hoping to get steak. There was no steak.

Worse, I sat and got a menu, and then the waitress disappeared for 15 minutes. I asked to speak to a manager - the waitress I asked (a different one) was not listening to what I said. When she finally figured out what I wanted, there was no manager available. Instead, there was a "supervisor" who was inept at handling a complaint.

I walked out and went to the food court downstairs instead. I used to go to Sierra often, but with the service level declining, I am unlikely to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, dissapointing service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I have come here severally, mostly over lunch. The food is great, background music is nice, and I really enjoy the seating area on the terrace. The service, however, is not quite up to par. Our experience today, was particularly disappointing. After waiting for over 30mins for food we had been told would be ready in 10mins, we politely asked the waiter what was going on. He rudely denied that we had waited for that long and refused to speak to us after that. A simple apology would have gone a long way in keeping us coming back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great salmon brilliant halloumi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent salmon and halloumi cheese. Good service, excellent ambiance especially on a nice warm day when one can seat outside. The inside is also good. Fantastic service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place with great food and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Even though it is located in a mall this is really a fantastic place. The food selection is amazing. And it tastes fantastic. Especially their fish is more than yummi.

So I will highly recommend this place to people coming to Kenya - For a lunch or early dinner I would prefer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Brasserie also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Sierra Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.