We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant

Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant
Wilson Airport, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
254 20 2338030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Diner, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Aero Club of East Africa was founded in 1927 by the aviation pioneers who opened up the frontiers of Africa. It still retains that 1930s romantic charm and historical ambience. The club is the only restaurant at Wilson Airport, four km from Nairobi’s central business district on the Langata Road. It is on the edge of the Athi Plains, with easy access to the Nairobi National Park and Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The restaurant has inside dining, a large eating deck and tables in the garden and by the swimming pool. It overlooks Wilson’s 007 runway and is an ideal spot to spend the hours before you leave on safari or to unwind on your return and watch planes and helicopters land and take off while soaking up the atmosphere in this legendary piece of Kenya’s aviation history. Chef Neil McCarthy and the Creative Kitchen Co. team moved into the restaurant at the Aero Club of East Africa on 1st October 2011. Neil has cooked and consulted all over the world, from London’s Mayfair Hotel and the Moscow Metropole to California’s vineyards and top-range hotels across Africa, including the Mt. Kenya Safari Club and Nairobi’s Tribe hotel. He is famous for his tasty gourmet burgers and dry-rub spicy BBQ ribs. He creates tasty international buffets and a la carte specialties. Sinful puddings include his New York style, melt in your mouth, baked cheese cake and home baked apple pie. He serves mouthwatering and seriously satisfying food.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had a great breakfast here while waiting for a flight. Service was excellent, the setting great for plane spotting.

The mugs of coffee are massive. Loads of condiments served with breakfast. I had a full English with black pudding, toast, tomatoes, hash brown, sausage, bacon and perfectly poached eggs. The food was well cooked, fresh and seasoned. I really enjoyed it. There are loads of breakfast choices including granola, fresh fruit, pancakes, etc. Good coffee. Would definitely go back again.

Would not mind trying their lunch menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“This place is better now the members rule has gone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Not that stopped us. (lucky we know a couple) The food here seems to have improved over the past couple of years.
We had a couple of lunches here and a tusker or two (not the driver)
This place is a drive so at least one of you must not drink (or pay a bribe if stopped)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Food, history and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

quite simply, a great place to stay if you get into Nairobi late or you are leaving early the next day. The staff are helpful, the food is great and the bar is a great place to spend a few hours listening to pilots talk about their day. Really worth a visit!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Was not really special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

As it was highly recommended on tripadvisor I thought I give it a chance. When going there my taxi was held up by the police at the entrance of the airport. As always in Kenya they demanded some bribe to let us go, hence I refuse to participate in such a trade it took us quite some time and a lot of discussion until they let us pass. On arrival at the Aero Club we were told that there will be no brunch - despite we phoned a few days earlier - but only a BBQ. Funny enough, I send an email to the restaurant inquiring about price, Brunch etc, but never received an answer (which is not a professional way to conduct business). The place per se is nice and spacious and I enjoyed it. The staff provided the service expected. The price was KES 1.200 (which I find ok) but the choice of food was rather limited (meat: grilled beef and sausages only, some stir-fry vegetables, potatoes and salads). The quality of the food was ok and if the choice would have been better, and if the person behind the BBQ would not have informed us that you can not go as many times as you wish to the buffet (one of us enjoys small portions but many but was denied after the fourth time) I would have given one point more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Short stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Warm welcolme again. Arrived late but they were expecting and waiting for us. Fed us too. Rooms are what they are, basic but much cheaper than town. The taxi fare and ride to the Aero is much better than to the town centre. Ask for the new rooms if you remember as they are quieter.

Great breakfast and quick to process the payment as always!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.