We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch-Brunch_ Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant

Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant
Wilson Airport, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
254 20 2338030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Diner, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Aero Club of East Africa was founded in 1927 by the aviation pioneers who opened up the frontiers of Africa. It still retains that 1930s romantic charm and historical ambience. The club is the only restaurant at Wilson Airport, four km from Nairobi’s central business district on the Langata Road. It is on the edge of the Athi Plains, with easy access to the Nairobi National Park and Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The restaurant has inside dining, a large eating deck and tables in the garden and by the swimming pool. It overlooks Wilson’s 007 runway and is an ideal spot to spend the hours before you leave on safari or to unwind on your return and watch planes and helicopters land and take off while soaking up the atmosphere in this legendary piece of Kenya’s aviation history. Chef Neil McCarthy and the Creative Kitchen Co. team moved into the restaurant at the Aero Club of East Africa on 1st October 2011. Neil has cooked and consulted all over the world, from London’s Mayfair Hotel and the Moscow Metropole to California’s vineyards and top-range hotels across Africa, including the Mt. Kenya Safari Club and Nairobi’s Tribe hotel. He is famous for his tasty gourmet burgers and dry-rub spicy BBQ ribs. He creates tasty international buffets and a la carte specialties. Sinful puddings include his New York style, melt in your mouth, baked cheese cake and home baked apple pie. He serves mouthwatering and seriously satisfying food.
ottawa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch-Brunch_ Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Recommend the fish and chips the beer batter is second to none...try the dessert fruit filled turnovers with ice cream and cream and a sauce to die for
the new management has this historical meeting place back on track ...job well done..looking forward to next time

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    31
    22
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great History and Milk Shakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family reluctantly went with me to the Aero Club after a shopping trip. I want to catch a piece of 20th century history. Everybody loved the food; including quite possibly, the best milkshakes in Africa.

We came back the next day for dinner and enjoyed the food and the unique environment. We had burgers, steak, pasta, salads and chicken. Everything was wonderful. We all had milkshakes again.

Eating while watching bush planes land was a lot of fun!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are working at Wilson you are just not going to beat the Aero Club. The new rooms are great and clean, would be almost perfect if they had fans (get rid of the useless TVs). The new restuarant manager has introduced a new menu which is great, food is good, beer is cold and the locals are sociable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callaway, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A most disappointing Meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was in Kenya for two months and while there I see that Aero Club had jumped to the Number one restaurant in Nairobi so when I returned from the Coast I had to try it.

I was planning on going for dinner and called, but they said breakfast and lunch only which was a little surprising so opted for breakfast. Arrived at 9 am and no one there other than one gentleman having coffee and working his laptop.

As I am from the US I chose the American pancakes and maple syrup and a side of bacon.

The pancakes came and I asked for the maple syrup, and the waiter said it was already on the pancakes. They might have been moist, but no syrup that I could tell and he offered none forthcoming. And the pancakes themselves were like lead, not light like the American pancakes I know and I have been eating them for many years.

And I know maple syrup as a former producer and at one time named the Number One maple syrup maker in North America, the lack of syrup and non offered in a syrup container was most surprising.

The side of bacon was most skimpy and average at best.

So I have to honestly say it was as poor a breakfast as I have in a long time.

I will not be back, the Java House is of much great value and the quality of food is also higher.

Jim from Minnesota USA

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fun place to eat and watch aircraft”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I visit Wilson often on business and really enjoy eating at the Aero Club. I have stopped by for breakfast sandwiches before taking off and also for lunch. The food is good but I mostly enjoy watching all the air traffic at the club's out door seating. There is a play ground for kids and the airplanes are always fun. But it can get noisy because of the planes-- but, hey, it's an airport!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.