We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
The Clarion Hotel
Moi Avenue | Opposite Jevanjee Gardens, Nairobi 5247-00506, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Cairo,Egypt
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

the clarion hotel is Ideal for business trips where you would be at the center of city near KICC most of international exhibitions held there , this hotel having a serious problem of WiFi network so you are almost will be offline , if you are suffering from noisy or couldn't sleep with noisy traffic simply don't be there .
average service , average service , no fridge or safe at rooms .

Room Tip: don't take the room on the main street , cause probably you won't sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
1
3
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juba, South Sudan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Clarion is OK. It appears as though some money has been spent modernising the facility but the details have been forgotten.
Like the cool spa bath in my room - but no shower... other rooms have showers I believe.
Breakfast was basic... but they have bacon if you ask for it.
I had a great massage from a woman called Karen - pity she answered her phone a couple of times during the session.
New(ish) curtains, but they didn't close properly

Good bed though...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungoma, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This Hotel is coming up better everyday. Super Reliable Wifi on all floors. I personally loved the newly Introduced Steam Bath and by the way, when there, have a look at the deluxe Rooms, they are just awesome. Great Improvement, great milestone.
I got a single room for 70$ which in comparison within the town, the deal is great. The addition of 3 level basement parking also served right as the Hotel is within Nairobi CBD.
Good Work Clarion!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed here based on the Clarion brand as we have stayed at other Clarion hotels in other countries and found them ok.
This was just shocking!
No WIFI which we made sure to ask before booking and again at checking.
We stayed at one of the top floors and there was no hot water at all the whole 2 days we were there.To make matters worse,the staff members kept saying that it was an issue with the whole hotel and the plumber was going to come in in an hour or 2.This turned out to be a wild goose chase.One of the ladies that cleans the place ended up telling us that the floor we were on was one of the ones without hot water and has been like that for over 3 months.She ended up organizing bucket hot water for us later and we were more than happy with her.We complained to the manager who claimed to know nothing of the sort and offered to have us transferred to another room if we would spend another night(never mind that reception had said the issue was with the whole hotel!)Needless to say,we left and would not ever recommend this place to anyone no matter how desperate you are.
Better off to pay a little cheaper and know exactly what you are getting into instead of the $95 we paid and get such crap service!

Room Tip: Higher rooms generally have no hot water. WIFI only at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have recently stayed at the Clarion Hotel in Nairobi for a week as I was on business nearby.
It wasn’t the most expensive hotel in the centre but nor was it the cheapest. I expected a half decent hotel for £90 a night.
This was so not the case. The rooms were of a poorly built standard considering this hotel is only a year old. The toilet was not secured properly to the floor and the taps were also loose.
There was a kettle in the room but no cups or tea making facilities (what’s the point)
I booked this hotel as it advertised WIFI as this was essential for my business in the city. There was no WIFI connection in the rooms; it was only in the restaurant. The signal and speed was the worst I have ever experienced, it took nearly 2 minutes to download a picture as the signal kept dropping out. There was an RJ45 terminal in the rooms you could use but if you have a modern laptop you will know they do not have RJ45 ports in them.
The food was not bad and at a reasonable price. However, there were many lights in the ceiling of the restaurant that didn’t work so you were almost eating meals in the dark at times.
I have never written about a hotel and not a person to complain about trivial things, but I feel that anyone who forks out £90 a night for a hotel you should at least expect to get what they are advertising. There is no excuse for bad service and fooling people into staying in a hotel that quite frankly is 2 star at best.
Do not stop in this hotel unless you get it for around £30 a night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The coffee shop is excellent. However the meals in the dining room need an improvement. They need a bit of touch of class. The napkins look like they were recycled from another hotel and cutlery looks aged. Not so good for a dining experience in a new hotel.

Room Tip: Can work for a one night stop. Not conducive for long stay since it is in a very busy part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Pros: nice enough rooms, nice staff, easy access to a restaurant, a bar, and a super cute coffee shop.

Cons: They claimed to have wifi, but we could barely find a signal. Also, they required us to pay in cash, despite allegedly accepting credit cards. When we tried to pay each morning, they insisted the machine was broken, but honestly, I think that was untrue - they just wanted to avoid paying fees. As a result, we spent way more US cash than we had budgeted for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarion Hotel

Address: Moi Avenue | Opposite Jevanjee Gardens, Nairobi 5247-00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Clarion Hotel, Nairobi, an oasis of tranquility and serenity where we blend Hospitality with creativity to ensure consistent delivery of high quality service. The Clarion Hotel is located in the heart of Nairobi, overlooking the central business district and close to major landmarks. It is in Kenya's most exciting, commercial and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.