We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shopping Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Shopping Mall - CLOSED

Westgate Shopping Mall
Mwanzi Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 20 3746172/3
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
US
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Shopping Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Each time we are in Nairobi we find ourselves here so many times. It is nice to shop and eat at Art Cafe. We end up at Nakumatt...the Kenyan Walmart

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“High end shopping mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A big bright and modern mall. Has a high end Nakumatt which seems to sell most things however shop floor staff are not very knowledgable or helpful. The usual range of high street shop brands and a cinema. the food court are is currently closed and boarded over but there is an Art caffe, subs sandwich shop and a pizza/chicken place plus a few coffee shops.

Very expensive for most things but there is a good photography shop where you can bargain a little. As said in other reviews, bring your money, you'll need lots of it.

good parking facilities with lots of security .

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Art caffe Westgate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

A bustling cafe but somehow once you are settled you do not hear the buzz of conversation. You can either sit in the verandah for smokers or in side where there is also wifi for clients. Two of us went for a business lunch and ordered caesar salads with tuna which were brought fresh and with speed and we had very healthy portions with cappuccinos afterwards. The service was excellent and although we ate and left pretty quickly due to our work schedules, we did not feel rushed in what turned out to be a busy lunch time for the cafe. It is very popular for shoppers taking a rest, a meeting place with lots of laptops open and also mothers resting with babies in push chairs. Very welcoming and certainly an experience to repeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Modern shopping city in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I call it a city within a city. You can shop for anything here and alot of eating places as well. Its located in another elite market in Westlands in Nairobi. Alot if indians though.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Masaai shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Masaai traditional artifacts.... bought some good staff for my wife and my mother.
The Masaai market will be at westigate Tuesdays only!

happy shopping

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westgate Shopping Mall also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Shopping Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.