We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Boma is a lovely place. The ambiance is great and the food and drinks are great too. It has easy access to the airport making it ideal for a quick stopover when in Nairobi.

It is also good for business meetings. The staff are courteous and are always willing to help

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review.
The Boma team appreciates your feedback and will endeavor to maintain the consistency in the quality of service in all areas of our hotel.
Thank you
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    92
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
82
26
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights here, it offers a genuine 5-star experience. As a Kenyan in the US, i have stayed in very nice US hotels and i would say that the Boma measures up to world class standards. The cleanliness, the room service, the staff etc are all world class. The buffet was very good, it offers both local and international choices. Great place overall and to know that the proceeds fund the Kenya Red Cross makes it even better.

Room Tip: Stayed in 2708 i believe and i had a nice view of downtown Nairobi !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi James,
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate and value our customers’ feedback as they enable us to benchmark across a broad spectrum of facilities beyond our borders. Karibu tena.
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very spacious room. Full width windows.

Mini bar and safe in room. Air conditioning worked well, although 18 degrees was the lowest it goes.

Separate bathroom, good shower. Good quality toiletries. Robe and slippers provided.

Large glass desk and work area.

Room service was quick and efficient. Food was hot and tasty.

Check in/out was efficient and the bill was accurate.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi bushmaniac,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate you feedback and truly happy that the Boma team took great care of you. We have noted the minor glitch on the air-conditioning side and will engage the technical team to see if temperatures can dip below 18 degrees.
Thank you
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just spent a two night stopover here and this place is awesome!. The rooms are gorgeous as is the entire hotel. Staff are helpful and friendly.
It is close to the two airports so you can avoid the hectic traffic Nairobi is known for!
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Cheryl,
Thank you for your review.
Team Boma Nairobi is motivated by your encouraging feedback. We hope that in Boma, you have found a home in Nairobi.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the hotel for a short time but the excellent service and extremely kind and helpful staff made it very special for us!!Beautiful hotel with lots of options!If you need anything they will make it happen!Definitely will come back and stay longer!!Thank you,thank you,thank you!!!!Adrienn & Linus

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Adrienn & Linus,
Thank you for your review.
I am happy that the Boma team took great care of you during your stay. We look forward to your return for greater doses of the same.
Thank you
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel for only one night before leaving for our safari. Great pool area. Ate at Tembo (a La carte) rather than buffet at other hotel restaurant. Room very comfortable conducive to a great night sleep. Staff was friendly and professional.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi HappyCanadian13,
Thank you for the review.
We hope your stay with us set the tone for a great voyage. We hope we will be your last port of call as you wind down your tour.
Thank you
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I traveled with my husband to rest a bit and rest is what we had. The pick up from the airport was efficient. The room was a home away from home and the food top notch. The customer service was very efficient. We will definitely go back there when I'm Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Agatha E,
Thank you for your review.
We are excited that the team at Boma hotel provided you with peaceful environment and matching service you needed to rejuvenate. We hope we will continue being your preferred venue whenever you need rest and recreation.
Regards,

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.