We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
v1grad
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is a short 20-25 minute drive to the international airport making it convenient getting in and out for travel. The hotel surroundings are uninspiring but the hotel itself was clean, modern and new. It has a very high quality gym, a spa and nice swimming pool. The staff is generally attentive, accommodating, smiling and willing to please, however the restaurant staff is not very attentive, spending time talking among themselves, largely oblivious to the real meaning of service. The food was descent, but not great.

My experience was mixed. I had to check out of my first room at 4 in the morning because the heater turned on and would not shut off. The room they then gave me was next to a huge industrial air conditioning unit that was obnoxiously loud, so within 5 minutes I changed rooms again. The next room I was given seemed ok, but soon enough revealed problems that I just had to deal with, I was tired. The master switch turned off all the lights except for the table lamp on the right side of the bed and a floor lamp.
All the rooms have windows that are not well insulated and don't seal well. You will hear noises easily from outside-people talking, music on occasion, and cars driving by. You can easily hear people outside in the hallways. The air conditioner in my last room just did not get cold enough most of the time.



Pros:

Friendly staff
Clean rooms
The food won't make you sick
Management interested in pleasing
Great gym

Cons:
Service in restaurants not that good
It's new but could have been build with better insulation from noise
Getting into the city center took close to an hour with the notorious Nairobi traffic.

Room Tip: Maybe the best rooms are off the Main street entrance...there is a large industrial air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    96
    19
    10
    2
See reviews for
44
84
26
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at The boma. The staff is very nice, The rooms are great. We were happy that Brussels airlines paid for our stay. We don't know Anything about The rates. Great fun here, chique, but fun use The free sauna.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villeneuve, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a new hotel (opened in January 2013) with welcoming and professional staff and is owned by the Red Cross (the proceeds go to the Kenya Red Cross - their premises are adjacent to the hotel).

I like the modern, upbeat decoration. The fitness room is quite good and the Security excellent. I ate at all the restaurants and found the food well-presented and high quality. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast (although I tend to prefer European). I appreciated also the superior mattresses.

The only downside is that if you leave your window open, you'll wake up to early morning noises from the street below.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The Boma hotel provide a luxurious and safe base while in Kenya. I visited for the second time for work and felt warmly welcomed back by the staff. The hotel has a lovely outdoor pool, a complete gym and three western-style restaurants. The breakfast (included) is truly exceptional for any hotel around the globe.

If you are hankering for something a bit more authentically Kenyan, you can go across the street to the Motor Club and have barbecue or to the Boma Inn (in the same complex) for ugali and stew.

The staff were nice to my 11 year old son who was visiting with me. We also were able to safely leave our bags there throughout our trip, as we went on other adventures. Overall, very nice!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

After 3 weeks travelling around Africa doing treks and safaris, The Boma was just what we needed at the end. Greeted at the door with hot towels and mango juice set the standard and the staff and management never let it drop after that. Nice pool area, nice restaurants, nice bar, nice rooms. Great hotel. Security was high level. I'd definitely recommend the Boma and I'd definitely stay there again if I was back in Nairobi.

Bryan, Ireland

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozimboa Da Praia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good hotel with courteous staff. Highly professional.
I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel.
Not too far from the airport to avoid heavy traffic on your way to and from airport.
Nice restuarant with varieties of food from local to continental dishes.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a fairly new hotel which is very clean and nice. I struggled to sleep though due to the loud noise from the nightclub which I assume is nearby/next door?! Not very impressive. Also the shower was very dangerous......would be cold one second then would go boiling hot the next repeatedly done this

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.