We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Montepastore, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Besides the fact that at The Boma All profits fund the Kenya Red Cross Society’s Humanitarian activities I was impressed by the kindness of the people that work at The Boma!!!

Is the best place in Nairobi with a classy European Coffe and Cappuccini!!

Room Tip: all rooms are good i would probably avoid the first floor!! Internet is quiet good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    103
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
47
91
27
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When I travel I like a nice comfortable bed and a good shower or bath. This place had both. The room actually was very spacious and it was also very quiet.
A huge plus is that its close to the airport and so you don't have to worry about the terrible Nairobi traffic. Food was fine-nothing spectacular but for me, having a good nights relaxing sleep is priority and so this hotel gets 10 out of 10 for that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Quite new hotel - opened in January 2013. Facilities still very good. The staff really care and regularly check if guests have any concerns. Good security arrangements with robust gate barriers and door checks. Maintenance is generally good but I noticed that a few things like room weighing scale and table clock run out their batteries.
Overall very good experience and what is even more exciting is that the hotel belongs to the Kenya Red Cross thus any profits go to humanitarian causes - an added reason to select the Boma if you want to spend with a humanitarian cause.

Room Tip: Generally all rooms looked quite quiet. The hotel is in an office zone of the city, off the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night in Nairobi between flights. It was a lovely hotel with good food, lovely accommodations and friendly staff. Convenient to airport so the drive was relatively fast given the heavy Nairobi traffic! We felt safe with hotel transportation on arrival and departure arranged by our travel agent, Troy Smith of True Africa!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in June as part of a humanitarian conference. A excllent first class service from the Hotel pick-up service from the airport to my return to the airport. Anything asked for was done, every and i mean every member of staff had a smile and so very helpful. Adding to all this the hotel and complex is owned by the Kenya Red Cross. should be going back again in October so will no doubt be seeing more of the same.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

stayed here for 2 nights on our way to and from the safari. modern clean hotel, rooms are spacious and wel maintained, the breakfast buffet spread was delicious. spa was wonderful, the staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a fairly new hotel where we stayed for 1 night prior to our 4 day safari. The staff, especially Angelina, were all helpful and seemed genuinely concerned about our comfort during the stay. The rooms were spacious, fully equipped with amenities, well lighted and very comfortable. Food at the restaurant quite good and the service from the crew was exceptional. Its a pity we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.