We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
New york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

stayed here for 2 nights on our way to and from the safari. modern clean hotel, rooms are spacious and wel maintained, the breakfast buffet spread was delicious. spa was wonderful, the staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    100
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
46
90
26
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a fairly new hotel where we stayed for 1 night prior to our 4 day safari. The staff, especially Angelina, were all helpful and seemed genuinely concerned about our comfort during the stay. The rooms were spacious, fully equipped with amenities, well lighted and very comfortable. Food at the restaurant quite good and the service from the crew was exceptional. Its a pity we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our first time staying at this superb hotel. Security was excellent, staff very courteous and helpful. Rooms very nicely appointed. The hotel has only been open for about a year and a half, but everything seems to be humming along nicely. The main restaurant (breakfast) had a nicel selection of items, and what we had was delicious. We also had lunch and dinner in the Bistro, which also offered a nice selection (highly recommend the avocado/grilled prawn salad) of eats. The airport is close to the airport, so getting there was no problem. If one wants to go for a walk-about, I'm not sure where I would go. Didn't look like there were any sights close by. My wife enjoyed the the spa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at the Boma after landing in Nairobi, and it was the perfect place for us to rest and get ready for the rest of our trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was comfortable and the buffet was excellent. My two sons were very entertained by the pool and the robotic lawn mower. There is not a lot in the area, but we felt like all of our needs after a long flight were well taken care of within the Boma.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at two different fabulous hotels in Nairobi. The Boma is beautiful, modern, excellent service, good buffet, close to the airport. I had the sense that the hotel is a bit remote and that there was nothing walking distance. So if you're just going in and out of the airport, this is a great place to stay. If you want to visit the city, I am less sure this is the place to stay. While we didn't take time to explore, the hotel provides a comfortable setting, a great place to rest after 24 hours hours of travel from the US. It has the added plus of benefiting the Red Cross. (For info on the second hotel, see my review of the Nairobi Serena Hotel.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I still remember this visit like it was yesterday. It was a very clean hotel, not sure because it is still new but I loved the service as well.

It has a great gym and the breakfast buffet is great.[though if you stay there for a long time it gets boring]

I can still remember the lamb chops that I had once for dinner. Highly recommended. It is very close to the airport is a lovely get away from the noisy Nairobi environs.

The view from the 8th Floor was breath taking.

It is definitely recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is ideally situated between Nairobi International Airport and the domestic Wilson Airport. You don't have far to go along the incredibly congested Mombasa Road that leads into the city, before you turn off onto a side road. The hotel is new and very elegant. Rooms are very well appointed, comfortable and quiet. Free Wi-Fi in rooms. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Best bet for those beginning or ending a safari.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.