We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stop before safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great overnight stop before safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at the Boma after landing in Nairobi, and it was the perfect place for us to rest and get ready for the rest of our trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was comfortable and the buffet was excellent. My two sons were very entertained by the pool and the robotic lawn mower. There is not a lot in the area, but we felt like all of our needs after a long flight were well taken care of within the Boma.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at two different fabulous hotels in Nairobi. The Boma is beautiful, modern, excellent service, good buffet, close to the airport. I had the sense that the hotel is a bit remote and that there was nothing walking distance. So if you're just going in and out of the airport, this is a great place to stay. If you want to visit the city, I am less sure this is the place to stay. While we didn't take time to explore, the hotel provides a comfortable setting, a great place to rest after 24 hours hours of travel from the US. It has the added plus of benefiting the Red Cross. (For info on the second hotel, see my review of the Nairobi Serena Hotel.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StartingFromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I still remember this visit like it was yesterday. It was a very clean hotel, not sure because it is still new but I loved the service as well.

It has a great gym and the breakfast buffet is great.[though if you stay there for a long time it gets boring]

I can still remember the lamb chops that I had once for dinner. Highly recommended. It is very close to the airport is a lovely get away from the noisy Nairobi environs.

The view from the 8th Floor was breath taking.

It is definitely recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tindi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is ideally situated between Nairobi International Airport and the domestic Wilson Airport. You don't have far to go along the incredibly congested Mombasa Road that leads into the city, before you turn off onto a side road. The hotel is new and very elegant. Rooms are very well appointed, comfortable and quiet. Free Wi-Fi in rooms. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Best bet for those beginning or ending a safari.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureTraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here on a stop-over to Juba, which makes The Boma ideally situated between the airport and the CBD city centre; just like a few more hotels.... What differentiates The Boma from those (and I stayed in all of them) is that here you get quality for money: decent prices (for African purposes), attention to detail, true five star trappings and friendly staff. Surrounding area so-so, but the rooms are very spaceous and clean, good shower power (always a challenge in NBO) and
excellent beds...and everything works, no TIA-stuff thus.. :-). This will be may new stay-over place in NBO.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalky_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were here overnight on our way to a safari. Excellent in all regards. Clean, friendly, comfortable and highly recommended for anyone passing through or staying in Nairobi. Room service was prompt even at 1am!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

If it is Five Star service you want, then The Boma in Nairobi is it.

Located along Red Cross Road off Mombasa Road, this magnificent new hotel offers fantastic spacious rooms with all the modern amenities required of a Five Star hotel. My room was on first floor and I therefore did not need to use the lift. All my colleagues booked on other floors were also very pleased with their rooms, not just the size but the layout, the colours and the cleanliness.

Out of the four eateries of the establishment, I only managed to try out two, namely the Johari restaurant and The Atrium. Johari is an all-day dining restaurant located at reception level and offers a wide variety of food choices. The Atrium (my favourite) is an all day coffee bar situated off the reception area and serves a wide variety of menus of exotic blends of tea and coffee with super-delicious pastries. And the service was fantastic. I say this because it has been a while since I enjoyed good hotel service whether in Kenya or abroad, you know, service with a smile - a real smile. On my next visit, (for sure am going back), I am trying out the Tembo Bistro and the Cocktail Lounge.

Well, because nothing done by man is excellent, there was one really minor inconvenience. The shower in my room was pouring out very little water as the holes appeared blocked PLUS there was no soap-holder nor metal support WITHIN the shower cubicle. I would suggest that the shower cubicles be fitted with inbuilt space on the wall for holding soap/shower gel.

Another suggestion: Hangers should preferably be plastic as wood tends to chip and can harm one....as did happen to me.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel for travellers on their way to or from the airport; people seeking REAL Five Star treatment or anyone visiting Kenya for a short or long stay.

Room Tip: If you are averse to using lifts like myself, ask for a room on first floor or the basement. The bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#2 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#26 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing