We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charity cum Luxury.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charity cum Luxury.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is located in South C in a residential area. For this reason it is only an escape and quite far. It is however a short drive to the National Park and Animal Orphanage as well as town. I mentioned this first so you realize where you will be based not expecting to walk out of the gate and into the wild. The hotel has an inviting and updated decor with ample parking and tight security. The hotel has 2 restaurants and high speed lifts to the rooms. Our suite was on the 6th floor. The full length ceiling to floor windows have a nice view of the pool and the surrounding areas. The room is well sized and has all amenities including an office area to work at.
The bathroom is well designed with a tub and a separate shower cubicle. The bathroom has a magnifying mirror, dryer, weighing scale, and all the bells and whistles of a good hotel. The minus side is there is a frosted window that has an obstructed (but still visible) view of the bathroom from the bed. While I understand its the new fad, I feel the bathroom should be a private place. Maybe you'll like it though.
The bed is huge and comfortable and there is a master switch right next to the bed to control the lights. There is a similar switchboard in the office area as well. There is a 32" tv with satellite channels. I found it small, maybe because my own tv is bigger. Still when you go all out, even the smallest "saving" seems like penny pinching. The floor is half carpeted half tiled and good quality. The hotel has wi-fi and in room dining. The food is pretty expensive and only so-so, nothing to write home about, but at least all the money goes towards charity.

Room Tip: Get the higher floors =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    90
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
40
80
24
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We were just passing by, so i cant talk about their accommodation.The restaurant is nice and cozy.The staff are friendly and pleasant.I cant recall the name of the staff who served us.He was great and went out of his way to even escort me because i dint know my way out.I think he is a trainee as he was wearing uniform different from the others.kudos to him and thanks so much!What i didnt get is how a hotel of that magnitude can have black forest cake and brown bread missing.Really?The washrooms next to the restaurant are poorly lit.Its good you have the seatcover disinfectant but i didnt know what i was to use to apply it to the seatcover.All in all, i would definetely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed one night at The Boma. I liked the architecture and the rooms were very spacious. We really relaxed there as we had a very long flight. Since we arrived at night to Nairobi it was the perfect hotel, it is not far from the airport and the location is great to begin your tour, early morning next day, avoiding Nairobi's traffic, The staff was all very nice and willing to help us with anything we needed. The breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Boma impresses in all ways. The modern architectural look withstanding, you are welcomed to smiles right from security check, concierge, reception, housekeeping, restaurant, etc. So customer care score is 100%.

And wait! Location! This piece of comfort is located conveniently between the Nairobi city and the Jomo Kenyatta airport. So you are not worried of sucking up the crazy traffic with nerves of missing your flight. The food and beverages are above average and the health and fitness facilities are good.

I definitely recommend the Boma for a Nairobi stay, whether for business or pleasure. But for a holiday traveler, it is easy to plan for excursions which are not within immediate reach but surely accessible.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We used this hotel as an overnight stay as we arrived late into Nairobi airport and could not get our connecting flight until the next day to the coast. I had emailed the hotel prior to leaving England asking for a price for a taxi to pick us up from the airport which they emailed back almost immediately stating $20pp. Hudson the taxi driver was there waiting for us after immigration, be it he was standing in the rain, but couldn't fault anything. On arrival at check in, we were welcomed by 2 lovely reception girls who booked our taxi for the following morning ($20pp) and alarm call and then got the porter to take us to our room.
Room was lovely, large room and large bathroom. Very comfortable bed be it just for one night. Staff at breakfast were there to greet you and everything at breakfast was available. Couldn't fault this and would recommend it to anyone either staying in Nairobi on business or as a connecting hotel to the airport. We had a connecting flight on the Saturday and left the airport at 08:00 which took 20 mins in the taxi to the main airport. Would book again as an overnight hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lannion, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very well reception, competent and nice staff,
Great rooms,
Good services (huge fitness center with coach),
Excellent and sophisticated food,
Part of the profit donated to Red Cross,
Steam and Sauna too small and out of work when I was there.
Pool a liitle bit small.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms upper the swimming pools big fans !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

First stay won't be the last. The Boma has a great, quiet location between the airport and downtown; great rooms, gym and restaurant; and incredibly friendly, competent staff. The fact that this is not only locally owned and run, but by the Kenyan Red Cross even, was just an unexpected cherry on the sundae... It isn't cheap, but then plenty of other hotels in Nairobi are the same or more expensive for less quality...

Room Tip: My first room on the 5th floor, on the poolside, was noisy due to what was probably a generator. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.