We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Redruth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We used this hotel as an overnight stay as we arrived late into Nairobi airport and could not get our connecting flight until the next day to the coast. I had emailed the hotel prior to leaving England asking for a price for a taxi to pick us up from the airport which they emailed back almost immediately stating $20pp. Hudson the taxi driver was there waiting for us after immigration, be it he was standing in the rain, but couldn't fault anything. On arrival at check in, we were welcomed by 2 lovely reception girls who booked our taxi for the following morning ($20pp) and alarm call and then got the porter to take us to our room.
Room was lovely, large room and large bathroom. Very comfortable bed be it just for one night. Staff at breakfast were there to greet you and everything at breakfast was available. Couldn't fault this and would recommend it to anyone either staying in Nairobi on business or as a connecting hotel to the airport. We had a connecting flight on the Saturday and left the airport at 08:00 which took 20 mins in the taxi to the main airport. Would book again as an overnight hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    81
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
34
67
21
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lannion, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very well reception, competent and nice staff,
Great rooms,
Good services (huge fitness center with coach),
Excellent and sophisticated food,
Part of the profit donated to Red Cross,
Steam and Sauna too small and out of work when I was there.
Pool a liitle bit small.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms upper the swimming pools big fans !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

First stay won't be the last. The Boma has a great, quiet location between the airport and downtown; great rooms, gym and restaurant; and incredibly friendly, competent staff. The fact that this is not only locally owned and run, but by the Kenyan Red Cross even, was just an unexpected cherry on the sundae... It isn't cheap, but then plenty of other hotels in Nairobi are the same or more expensive for less quality...

Room Tip: My first room on the 5th floor, on the poolside, was noisy due to what was probably a generator. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

There are a lot of beautiful properties in Nairobi, but few with the quality, professional and competent staff at The Boma. It is expensive - especailly for walk ups - but the location near the airport is great for one night stays and transfers. Booking on a travel site and you can get a better deal. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed overnight between arriving on our flight from London and our flight to Malindi next day. We chose it based on reviews, the fact that it was relatively near the airport, and the fact that the hotel will pick you up or take you to the airport in their own transport for $20. It also belongs to the Kenya Red Cross so that you know that the profits are going somewhere deserving. It lived up to all expectations. The service is excellent. The staff are helpful. The roooms are spacious and comfortable. But all this comes at a price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Two night stay whilst transiting through Nairobi. This hotel was a very enjoyable experience. Very large and well furnished room, modern bathroom with tub and shower, comfortable bed, and very clean. The breakfast was excellent.

One problem that I experienced consistently, however, was that hot water takes too long to come through to the room (several minutes). One maintenance problem that I reported late at night was rectified within 10 minutes.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Found the Boma to be expensive in comparison to other hotels in Nairobi, but the service was out of this world, the food fantastic and the facilities excellent. The amenities was clean, easily accessible and the staff sincere and eager to help and assist. Rooms are spacious and well organised and caters superbly for business travel. Showers needs a rethink in terms of size and practicality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;