We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top quality hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Two night stay whilst transiting through Nairobi. This hotel was a very enjoyable experience. Very large and well furnished room, modern bathroom with tub and shower, comfortable bed, and very clean. The breakfast was excellent.

One problem that I experienced consistently, however, was that hot water takes too long to come through to the room (several minutes). One maintenance problem that I reported late at night was rectified within 10 minutes.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    73
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
60
16
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Found the Boma to be expensive in comparison to other hotels in Nairobi, but the service was out of this world, the food fantastic and the facilities excellent. The amenities was clean, easily accessible and the staff sincere and eager to help and assist. Rooms are spacious and well organised and caters superbly for business travel. Showers needs a rethink in terms of size and practicality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have stayed in three other hotels near JKIA, Nairobi and was keen to try the Boma. The key to this hotel is the VERY friendly staff and management. I was reliably met from JKIA on arrival and the car and driver were of a high standard. The rooms, spa, restaurants and general quality of the Boma are very impressive and the location is in a calm area with good access to Wislon Airport, JKIA and the city centre. The hotel overlooks the Nairobi National Park. I travel constantly and this one of the few times that I have been determined to write a review. A fantastic hotel !!

Room Tip: Make sure you have good WiFi coverage in your room. A booster is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at The Boma. Nice room, great bed and good shower. The staff are very helpful. The restaurants serve very nice food. I used the gym and the pool and had a wonderful massage. And profits go to the Red Cross. A good deal all round.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The service was amazing, food great, comfort level wonderful and only a short drive to the airport using the hotel car for $20. They even provided a boxed breakfast when we had an early start to catch our flight. The only minor complaint would be that the showers were not great and we were looking forward to this after staying in very basic places before this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had a great stay there, staff friendly great breakfast, great rooms. lovely place i wish i would have stay there longer, i was in kenya for 3 months after two i move here best choice i made its a really quiet and wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

First, it is worthy of note that I travel specifically for business and Nairobi is always my transit point - in other words, I only spend max two nights in Nairobi before proceeding to my next destination.

Now with respect to the Boma, first they have excellent internet and I an never disconnected from the world when I am at this hotel and what is even more delightful is that it is free.

Next the rooms are exactly 5star standard. Extremely clean, beautiful and cosy. You will find that you can really rest when you enter that room.

Food: In general I am not a very adventurous eater so I eat only what I am familiar with. That said, everything thing I have eaten at the BOMA is spectacular. Kudo's to the chef!!!

Customer Service is spectacular; all of them. The receptionist work really fast to get you into your room. I must praise them especially for their extreme professionalism and high customer service skills. Once I arrived at the hotel and my online reservation had not reached them. They still immediately checked me in while they sought things out. I was incredibly impressed. Some other hotels would just keep you standing in the lobby even after you present them with your booking print out. All hotels where I had had this kind of treatment, I have vowed never to return to even if they were the last choice - in which case I will rather sleep under a bridge or on the floor at the airport,

The Boma guys really know how to treat their customers and I am most assuredly confident that you will love it. It is a full 5star hotel and the price is the best you can get anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.