We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plesantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 97 hotels in Nairobi
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Plesantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is pretty close by the airport and a little far from the downtown area but very nice. The hotel rooms were clean and modern. The breakfast was delicious and the overall service was great. It was just a short overnight trip in preparation for our safari but was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi LeCattt,
Thank you for the review.
We hope we will get another opportunity to host you before the end of your tour of Kenya.
Enjoy your safari.
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    70
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
59
15
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Boma Hotel in Nairobi is relatively new, and reasonably close to both the international airport and the Wilson airstrip.

It is a lovely, modern hotel with exceptional security. The staff are very pleasant and friendly. The breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of variety both hot, cold, Asian and western. The rooms were large, comfortable and well appointed. Our bathroom had a jetted tub and was quite a spacious bathroom space.

We were only there for 1 night but would definitely recommend to others and stay there again ourselves if ever back in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi HardCurves,
Thank you for sharing your views and commendation.
Our team is greatly motivated by your kind words. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel is near the airport and in the outskirts. The rooms are big and from a high floor one can has a good 180 degree city view from a distance. The gym is big and lots of equipment.

The water is probably hard as it takes a lot of time to remove soap. Also while having a bath experienced waves of hot and cold water. The Wi fi is weak.

I planned to stay 9 nights but moved to Ole Sereni after two.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Good day Soodmanu,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are disappointed for failing to meet your expectations during your stay. The team has noted your concerns and corrective action is being taken to address them permanently.

Enjoy the rest of your stay in Nairobi and we hope to see you on your return visit.

Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Boma hotel last week for six nights. Excellent experience. Staff were great and helpful; our first day there, we had a hotel driver take us around the city for 6 hours to help get us oriented to being there. It was a cost effective 'tour' (about $70) that was a great orientation. Breakfast was amazing every single day. The pool, gym were beautiful and completed and there was reliable internet. Most importantly, the profits go to support the Red Cross in East Africa. What was there not to like.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello Jodi,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you found our facilities and services to be of acceptable quality. We hope you will continue supporting our cause.
Thank you and see you soon.

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterinburg
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had stay there on our way back to home. The hotel is real 5 stars, it placed not far from the international airport and very convinient for not long stay in Nairobi. They have good restaurants and bars there and also good security service. The Carnivor restaurant is also not far and we visited it and enjoyed that a lot. The staff is friendly and highly trained. I can recommend this hotel for travellers who don't have an obligatory programme in Nairobi and who just like good service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Mikhail,
Thank you for the review.
We appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continuously align our products and service delivery to our guests’ needs.
Thank you
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Boma. The room was spacious, tastefully furnished, and very clean. The location is in a quiet area in Nairobi and fairly close to the airports (international and domestic). The hotel was quite modern and the employees were helpful. I would recommend staying here, especially given the fact that the hotel supports the Red Cross.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Good day SSM230,
Thank you for sharing your views and for recommending our hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to being of service you on your return visit to Nairobi
Kind regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel a few times after previously staying elsewhere, but decided to give this a try as another option, and never disappointed!
The rooms are very large by any standards; they have a good swimming pool and fitness centre (although the pool can be cold!); both the onsite restaurants are very good, and the dinner buffet at the Johari restaurant is well-worth it; the coffee bar serves excellent coffee and cake, and is a nice spot to sit and relax or catch up on emails; and finally the staff - extremely friendly and efficient, and enough staff in all areas of the hotel, so there's always someone right there when you need something.
I love it, and will always stay there when in Nairobi!

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking room!!! My colleagues who stay in smoking rooms always claim to have a far smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.