We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Option when in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Durban
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Option when in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel a few times after previously staying elsewhere, but decided to give this a try as another option, and never disappointed!
The rooms are very large by any standards; they have a good swimming pool and fitness centre (although the pool can be cold!); both the onsite restaurants are very good, and the dinner buffet at the Johari restaurant is well-worth it; the coffee bar serves excellent coffee and cake, and is a nice spot to sit and relax or catch up on emails; and finally the staff - extremely friendly and efficient, and enough staff in all areas of the hotel, so there's always someone right there when you need something.
I love it, and will always stay there when in Nairobi!

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking room!!! My colleagues who stay in smoking rooms always claim to have a far smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    73
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
61
18
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have stayed at the Boma Nairobi and the hotel and the staff were the best, I can't find a word that will describe the experiences that I had, first day I over slept with the family, so we missed breakfast, when I asked if I can get some breakfast cereal for my son the manager had the restaurant service us breakfast.
The rooms are clean and modern I have stayed in the intercontinental in time square and the Boma is batter, the hotel is not a year old.
You don't have traffic noises as in some other hotels, and the security is top, the car is checked and people coming in to the hotel are checked.
I recommend it for any one going to Kenya to stay at the Boma.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here on the night of 23 Dec after our arrival late on the BA flight from LHR & prior to our departure for MBA the following morning.

Our taxi journey was only 20 minutes both to & from the Boma. Our check in was prompt & friendly & we were soon enjoying a nightcap in the bar. Our 7th floor luxury room was both huge & very comfortable. We slept like logs, the Boma is in a very quiet location.

Breakfast the following morning sitting on the terrace overlooking the gardens was a great start to 3 weeks in Kenya. This is a first class, friendly hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The 7th floor luxury rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Friend had left behind his suit and returned to UK. Fearing a lengthy ordeal I took the challenge of picking it up. Delighted by prompt and effective service from Pascal and Esther.

Had a quick peak at a room as was being nosy - large and impressively appointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great location close to the airport and an absolute luxury hotel at a brilliant price. The staff can't do enough to help and the spa and breakfast is wonderful! Rooms were huge and very, very clean. Nothing bad to say at all!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on two occasions, once on the way to Kilimanjaro airport which was a very short stay (from 11pm to 6am) and then on the way back where we spent a full day and night at the hotel.

Both times we availed of the airport transfers to and from the hotel which were great (Nairobi airport is a lot calmer than I expected!).

The check in was really smooth and the staff were so welcoming and helpful. They even arranged for breakfast to be open 15 minutes earlier than usual for us when departing so we could have something quick before leaving for the airport.

The food is really great. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and all of the meals we had at the hotel were wonderful.

The bedrooms are nice but not amazing, they are very spacious and spotlessly clean.

The hotel is slightly overpriced but, overall, it's a very nice place to stay and the staff and food really make it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We tried this hotel in December as we needed a place for one night after arriving from an international flight, and before a flight on safari. We wanted to avoid the traffic in Nairobi.

It was a great experience. We arranged for someone from the hotel to pick us up from the airport, as well as take us back the next day.

The hotel was excellent - new and well designed. The food was also very good.

The staff was really friendly and helpful.

We will definitely use this hotel again - it saved us a couple of hours sitting in traffic!

Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.