We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost & Found” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lost & Found”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Friend had left behind his suit and returned to UK. Fearing a lengthy ordeal I took the challenge of picking it up. Delighted by prompt and effective service from Pascal and Esther.

Had a quick peak at a room as was being nosy - large and impressively appointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    66
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
58
15
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great location close to the airport and an absolute luxury hotel at a brilliant price. The staff can't do enough to help and the spa and breakfast is wonderful! Rooms were huge and very, very clean. Nothing bad to say at all!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on two occasions, once on the way to Kilimanjaro airport which was a very short stay (from 11pm to 6am) and then on the way back where we spent a full day and night at the hotel.

Both times we availed of the airport transfers to and from the hotel which were great (Nairobi airport is a lot calmer than I expected!).

The check in was really smooth and the staff were so welcoming and helpful. They even arranged for breakfast to be open 15 minutes earlier than usual for us when departing so we could have something quick before leaving for the airport.

The food is really great. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and all of the meals we had at the hotel were wonderful.

The bedrooms are nice but not amazing, they are very spacious and spotlessly clean.

The hotel is slightly overpriced but, overall, it's a very nice place to stay and the staff and food really make it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We tried this hotel in December as we needed a place for one night after arriving from an international flight, and before a flight on safari. We wanted to avoid the traffic in Nairobi.

It was a great experience. We arranged for someone from the hotel to pick us up from the airport, as well as take us back the next day.

The hotel was excellent - new and well designed. The food was also very good.

The staff was really friendly and helpful.

We will definitely use this hotel again - it saved us a couple of hours sitting in traffic!

Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binbrook, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

One of the nicest places I have ever stayed. We were here for one night waiting for passengers. We arrived after flying through the night and were greeted by a breakfast feast the likes of which you would only find at the most prestigious hotels.

The rooms, service, location and food were all spectacular.

Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for just one night after arriving in Nairobi before flying to our destination. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to be close to the airport. The rooms are very nice and clean. All of the staff was very friendly. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was a very nice buffet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a 6 hour layover in nairobi and because of the fire we decided to get a room at a hotel nearby, we looked at eka, and decided on boma hotel. It was a very nice hotel and they picked us up at the airport. Room was very nice, and food was good. on our layover back we also came here for our 6 hour layover back and had dinner and hung out in the lobby. Only negative is they charge for internet even in the lobby area. If you are having dinner, they don't consider you a "guest" so we had to pay for internet on our layover back. but i would definitely recommend. With what you pay for the safari, it's definitely worth it to start it right if you have a long layover in nairobi. The hotel is like 10 to 15 minutes from the airport, and we had no traffic, both ways.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.