We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phase 3” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Phase 3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and ate in the main resteraunt every night
Room and staff were great
Breakfast was great
Had the buffet and a la carte both great never got round to trying the lower resteraunt The Boma drivers were all great
Great for airport and industrial areas
and any profits go to the Red Cross And to cap it all they had the contestants for Miss Tourism Kenya there on the last evening
what can you say ---- GREAT

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    120
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
57
102
30
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had one night stay yesterday before going to Mombasa for deep see fishing. The hotel was good and room pretty nice. We were going to their restaurant on the ground floor and before we left the room we cold on the reception desk and asked for the evening housekeeping they said:"no problem!"
We had our dinner (chicken salad, seefood besque soup and seefood pasta with red wine) and when get back to the room there was make nothing.
That night I wasn't really sleep coz have got a seek from their food and should be in the bathroom a few times. It was really awful.. (I'm sorry) with a vomiting a few times.
And next morning I felt totally broken.
When I was checked out I said about seek on the reception desk. No even sorry, just a comment :" ohh.. Why? May be I had tried something new?"

Irina Ivanova

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

15 mins away from the airport. Avoid the traffic jam in Nairobi.
comfortable room but a bit cold at night in the hotel.
Services is average. Friendly but not efficient.
Good stopover for a night but not for long stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is run by the same management as the Red Court Hotel (now Boma Inn), so it is not surprising that the staff, facilities, restaurants and overall experience was excellent. It is adjacent to Boma Inn and 15 minutes away from Nairobi airport. I would go back there any time. Some of the rooms are disabled friendly (wheel chair access).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I like that the hotel is an initiative by Kenya Red Cross. It has fantastic interior deco, which brightens up the place and makes it look quite up market. Apart from the deco, I would rank the rooms as ok. Comfortable beds and large bathrooms. However, for a five star (hotel staff told me the hotel is a five star) some things could use improvement e.g. having vanity kits in the room, having market accepted branded water- that would be in the 5* class. Also my room did not have all the channels showing. Breakfast was great- loved the choice and variety. Front desk staff were generally helpful.

I think its a great place, but not yet at 5 star ranking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I really liked the friendly staff and porters. The rooms are spacious with a large bed, good air conditioning and a mini office. The hotels location is convenient especially to guests using the airport. The meals are awesome. I would visit the Boma anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I like that the hotel is an initiative by Kenya Red Cross. It has fantastic interior deco, which brightens up the place and makes it look quite up market. Apart from the deco, I would rank the rooms as ok. Comfortable beds and large bathrooms. However, for a five star (hotel staff told me the hotel is a five star) some things could use improvement e.g. having vanity kits in the room, having market accepted branded water- that would be in the 5* class. Also my room did not have all the channels showing. Breakfast was great- loved the choice and variety. Front desk staff were generally helpful.

I think its a great place, but not yet at 5 star ranking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
8.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.