We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good initiative from Red Cross” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good initiative from Red Cross”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I like that the hotel is an initiative by Kenya Red Cross. It has fantastic interior deco, which brightens up the place and makes it look quite up market. Apart from the deco, I would rank the rooms as ok. Comfortable beds and large bathrooms. However, for a five star (hotel staff told me the hotel is a five star) some things could use improvement e.g. having vanity kits in the room, having market accepted branded water- that would be in the 5* class. Also my room did not have all the channels showing. Breakfast was great- loved the choice and variety. Front desk staff were generally helpful.

I think its a great place, but not yet at 5 star ranking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    54
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
50
14
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was there for 1 week for a training in Nairobi.
The room was very comfortable, the service and people there was superb.
There is a gym, Spa and even swimming pool. But unfortunately there was not enough time for me to go there.

I would recommend the BOMA.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The staff were friendly, rooms were quiet and beds comfortable. They had interconnected rooms making it easy for our kids to be in the next room while staying in touch. Good working space in the room and great ambience. Breakfast was awesome....would visit again any day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I started the trip at the Kempinski. Felt like Munich - great, if that is what you want. On the way out, I spent two nights at the Boma, fairly close to the airport. About 1 year old, beautifully designed. "Boma" is a collection of houses, and that is the design motif. The colors for carpeting, walls, etc. aren't cool Scandinavian, they are African. I indulged for the larger room (really a suite), a great bargain and strongly advise all to do so. Well designed, beautiful decor, full on modern, stand alone shower. The food was also good, but all with a local flavor. Vegetable lasagna with diced carrots! One problem (wireless too slow). The evening manager was all over it, very polite, professional, found a better area, offered to move me (11 PM). In the AM, back to standard high speed.
Now my favorite place in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Get the bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londoner
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by The Boma. Booked last minute and was rewarded with a nice big room, breakfast included in my room rate the next day and a very good gym that is one of best stocked hotel gyms I've seen anywhere. The hotel is a bit of a way out of the centre but very handy for JKIA or Wilson and quiet if you just want to relax. The staff were all very pleasant, WIFI was free and the spa massage I had was also great. I would definitely recommend The Boma if you're in Nairobi for a night or two and not being in the centre of things isn't important to you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampula
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I am Jorge Mahota from Mozambique i came to Boma on 27th Oct. 13 and left on 2nd Nov. 13. While I stayed at Boma i enjoyed every bit, the food is the best you can get in Nairobi, with a wide variety greetings to the Chef, the rooms are specious and comfortable. The staff are friendly and welcoming, not to mention the lady called Winfred of Johari Restaurant, she made me feel at home, she is outstanding and does her work. Just right Kudus to her and her entire collegues. Congratulations Winfred and keep up the good work.
I would visit Boma anytime am in Nairobi. Keep up the good work, thank you all.

Room Tip: I was in 2317 this is the only room I saw but it is also the best one. It is large and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This made my trip excellent....the GM Mr.Ali Kibwana is just the right man for this hotel. Initially i didn't expect this kind of a set up in eldoret, honestly it's worth the price. Keep up the good work and hopefully the little R&M is coming to an end soon. I love the sunday barbeque and live band by the poolside! SEE YOU AGAIN SOON I AM NOT GOING TO ANYWHERE ELSE!!

Room Tip: pool facing rooms have a better view and are silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.