We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for JKIA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Londoner
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Handy for JKIA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by The Boma. Booked last minute and was rewarded with a nice big room, breakfast included in my room rate the next day and a very good gym that is one of best stocked hotel gyms I've seen anywhere. The hotel is a bit of a way out of the centre but very handy for JKIA or Wilson and quiet if you just want to relax. The staff were all very pleasant, WIFI was free and the spa massage I had was also great. I would definitely recommend The Boma if you're in Nairobi for a night or two and not being in the centre of things isn't important to you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    54
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
50
14
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nampula
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I am Jorge Mahota from Mozambique i came to Boma on 27th Oct. 13 and left on 2nd Nov. 13. While I stayed at Boma i enjoyed every bit, the food is the best you can get in Nairobi, with a wide variety greetings to the Chef, the rooms are specious and comfortable. The staff are friendly and welcoming, not to mention the lady called Winfred of Johari Restaurant, she made me feel at home, she is outstanding and does her work. Just right Kudus to her and her entire collegues. Congratulations Winfred and keep up the good work.
I would visit Boma anytime am in Nairobi. Keep up the good work, thank you all.

Room Tip: I was in 2317 this is the only room I saw but it is also the best one. It is large and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This made my trip excellent....the GM Mr.Ali Kibwana is just the right man for this hotel. Initially i didn't expect this kind of a set up in eldoret, honestly it's worth the price. Keep up the good work and hopefully the little R&M is coming to an end soon. I love the sunday barbeque and live band by the poolside! SEE YOU AGAIN SOON I AM NOT GOING TO ANYWHERE ELSE!!

Room Tip: pool facing rooms have a better view and are silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at the end of a two week visit to Kenya. From the very start I was well looked after. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large, the bed comfortable, the air conditioning worked well and the view over the garden toward the restaurant pleasant. Room staff made sure that I had everything I needed and kept the tea and coffee making facilities and the bathroom necessities well stocked. I would recommend the food in the Johari restuarant. There is something to please most tastes as well as being beautifully presented. Restaurant staff were attentive but not overly so, so that I could enjoy my meals to the fullest. I made use of the business centre to recheck my flight times, print my boarding pass and the concierge made sure that I was safely transferred to the airport in time to make it through all the enhanced security checks. Traffic in Nairobi can feel quite daunting but my hotel driver was adept, safe and even helped with my bags on arrival at the airport. I couldn't have asked for more! Well done Boma.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergschenhoek, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great hotel with very good facilities for workshops, seminars, etc. Close to the airport, so no problems with the incredible traffic jams of Nairobi for transportation of participants from the airport to the hotel. Flipside is opf course that when you want to go to the city centre, you have to plan the time verywell to avoid the congestion. Great rooms with all facilities needed. Very service minded staff. Possibilities to host very big groups. Restaurant is big enough to feed very big groups with excellent buffets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First time stay for one night. Checked in relatively late and the front desk staff and porters were very receptive. Bedroom had lots of space and complimentary items. Trial and error with the shower since hot and cold are not clearly labelled. Hotel room had mini office facilities in the bedroom and an additional business centre is near the reception which I found out about once I had checked out, but was allowed to use the computer for free.

Breakfast was a delight with a wide variety for a buffet meal and staff were closely monitoring my needs. Lots of light also in the breakfast area, so feels like you are outside. Spar facilities lots of choice and reasonably priced.

Tips: Read the small print since breakfast was not included in the room price. Room service had an additional cost but it was reasonable. Shuttle to the airport- also reasonable- 15 dollars considering I had spent sometime on the road the evening before from Westlands, crossing town to the Boma because of traffic. Would I stay again- yes. value for money- somewhat since generally Nairobi quality hotels are not cheap. Since I booked on line, the added cost of a day room had not been reflected as an option for those leaving on a late evening flight. So better to sort this with the front desk on arrival.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went here for business with several Nairobi businesses. Location is great as Nairobi traffic is a nightmare these days. Rooms are big and convenient, big gym and spa. Did not use other facilities

Will come back to this one

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.