We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well looked after” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well looked after”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at the end of a two week visit to Kenya. From the very start I was well looked after. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large, the bed comfortable, the air conditioning worked well and the view over the garden toward the restaurant pleasant. Room staff made sure that I had everything I needed and kept the tea and coffee making facilities and the bathroom necessities well stocked. I would recommend the food in the Johari restuarant. There is something to please most tastes as well as being beautifully presented. Restaurant staff were attentive but not overly so, so that I could enjoy my meals to the fullest. I made use of the business centre to recheck my flight times, print my boarding pass and the concierge made sure that I was safely transferred to the airport in time to make it through all the enhanced security checks. Traffic in Nairobi can feel quite daunting but my hotel driver was adept, safe and even helped with my bags on arrival at the airport. I couldn't have asked for more! Well done Boma.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    69
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
59
15
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergschenhoek, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great hotel with very good facilities for workshops, seminars, etc. Close to the airport, so no problems with the incredible traffic jams of Nairobi for transportation of participants from the airport to the hotel. Flipside is opf course that when you want to go to the city centre, you have to plan the time verywell to avoid the congestion. Great rooms with all facilities needed. Very service minded staff. Possibilities to host very big groups. Restaurant is big enough to feed very big groups with excellent buffets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First time stay for one night. Checked in relatively late and the front desk staff and porters were very receptive. Bedroom had lots of space and complimentary items. Trial and error with the shower since hot and cold are not clearly labelled. Hotel room had mini office facilities in the bedroom and an additional business centre is near the reception which I found out about once I had checked out, but was allowed to use the computer for free.

Breakfast was a delight with a wide variety for a buffet meal and staff were closely monitoring my needs. Lots of light also in the breakfast area, so feels like you are outside. Spar facilities lots of choice and reasonably priced.

Tips: Read the small print since breakfast was not included in the room price. Room service had an additional cost but it was reasonable. Shuttle to the airport- also reasonable- 15 dollars considering I had spent sometime on the road the evening before from Westlands, crossing town to the Boma because of traffic. Would I stay again- yes. value for money- somewhat since generally Nairobi quality hotels are not cheap. Since I booked on line, the added cost of a day room had not been reflected as an option for those leaving on a late evening flight. So better to sort this with the front desk on arrival.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went here for business with several Nairobi businesses. Location is great as Nairobi traffic is a nightmare these days. Rooms are big and convenient, big gym and spa. Did not use other facilities

Will come back to this one

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

If you open the hotels website, you will not miss to see the smiling face of the Concierge. This familiar face was the first person we saw when we arrived at the hotel.
We decided to stay at the Boma because of all the positive reviews on tripadvisor. We had always stayed at the Nairobi Serena and needed a change .
Its very close to the airport but abit annoying to get to downtown Nairobi due to traffic.
The Boma can match any leading business luxury hotel in the western world.
The rooms are so big. Enough space for us ( with our two small kids) The bathroom luxurious with all amenities.
The staff are all friendly and well trained.
We requested to have a baby cot and got a white wooden baby bed. Amazing, most 5 star hotels in Europe use the usual ,, mothercare,, or Ikea travel baby beds. I was impressed.
Only minus point is the breakfast costs 30$ but on the other hand Internet is free.
The pool is small.
No spectacular city views, just the not so clean neighbourhood, pool or garden view.
And you always have to go through security checks before entering the hotel but this done everywhere in Nairobi.
Nevertheless, we plan to stay here again keeping in mind that all profits fund the kenya red cross society.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very shorty in this hotel (only 4 days).
But, everyhing was realy very nice, fine and clean.
Personnel is very pleasant, helpfull and always smily.
Food is very nice: I would recommend shrimp-and-mashroom soup, and one hotel's speciality with lamb meat (I do not remember the name).
Souvenir shop is very-well packed with books, bijouteries, magnets, clothes and authentic gadgets (oppened till 22:00, which is perfect).
Many other facilities, beautiful restaurants and yards (basin with boat...) and pool.
Congratulations!
(Darko Novakovic, Serbia)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you want a good/comfortable/close to the airport hotel for your first night in Nairobi (after a long flight and your hour+ wait in Kenya immigration) then the Boma is a great choice. This business hotel is modern and has spacious, well furnished 5 star rooms. It very safe and staffed with well trained personnel that go out of their way to accommodate you. Yes, it is pricey for a developing country but when you discover that nothing good in Nairobi is cheap… I mean nothing... then that fact moderates the pinch. I do recommend that you find a way to include the breakfast buffet otherwise the $30 sticker shock may wake you up more than the strong coffee. Strongly recommended 4.5stars.

Room Tip: Find a way to include the breakfast in your purchase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.