We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Nairobi Stopover Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Nairobi Stopover Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here on my way to the Masai Mara in late May purely based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor and because they are owned and operated by the Red Cross. It's a nice new hotel in a sketchy neighborhood, but then it seemed that everywhere was sketchy.

Was picked up at the airport by the very friendly driver and that was very convenient and appreciated for my first time in Nairobi. It would have been a bit intimidating to have to take a taxi.

I was a bit shocked by having to be searched and have my purse and backpack searched in order to enter the hotel to check in, especially when I had been picked up by the hotel driver and delivered through the hotel security gate in the hotel car. That was my first ever experience of something like that but I guess it's for my own safety.

There were definite communication and service issues with the staff but I ended up speaking with the General Manager about it and they are really trying. I can't fault them for their efforts. They are dealing with training staff for an environment that is not typical of the area and they are focusing on training new skills and jobs which is admirable.

The rooms are really nice and contemporary and very spacious. Don't expect glamorous views out the windows here. You're not in the bush yet or in a shiny city.

The breakfast buffet was extensive and sufficient. There was a great variety to accommodate all the various visiting cultures.

I will stay here again when stopping over in Nairobi but I wouldn't want to stay more than one night at a time as you really need to just stay at the hotel once you're there given the location and neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    107
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
49
97
27
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My first stay at the Boma! Very nice experience. The Hotel is well located, relatively close to the Airport, out of the chaotic city traffic. The rooms are spacious, workable fast internet on free WiFi. The personnel is super efficient, friendly and professional. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stay in Nairobi, so my gf and I decided to get a couple nights rest somewhere else. We were at Boma the first night and regrettably Ole Sereni the second.

If I can compare the two, as they are both similar price range, fairly close (walk 10-15 min) and rated the same. The Boma is by far superior in services, amenities, cleanliness and the only reason I did not put 5 is that I found the pricing to be completely outrageous ($30 for a breakfast buffet... really...)

The room was big and beautiful, the bed was large and comfortable (not hard). They have large flat screen TV's, hook ups for your laptop (HDMI, Audio jacks etc). The bathroom was equipped with a double sink, large bathtub and separate large head shower with decent pressure. Although it was not always hot.

The pool was large though closes early.

We ate at the bar downstairs for dinner and breakfast. I must say it was absolutely delicious, may be one of the best burgers in Nairobi, their pizza was quite tasty also. This hotel deserves its rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Rooms and facilities are excellent. The rooms are spacious and very nicely fitted out. Staff is super friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The food is perfect. 15 minutes to Airport. I will definitely be going back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here with the Travel Masters (Gold Coast, Australia) tour groupin September, 2013, prior to starting our wildlife safari. The hotel was within 20 minutes drive of the airport, a new hotel. Luggage delivery was a bit slow...the rooms are beautiful. Hotel has a downstairs, below the entrance level, light dining restaurant, as well as a larger restaurant on lobby level.
large swimming pool area.
Had a little trouble when it came to storing our luggage whilst we were on Safari, so the hotel needs to organise this better. We returned from Safari some 10 days later and the hotel didnt offer us anywhere to repack and sort our suitcases. Lovely hotel, would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
99 hotel reviews
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at The Boma Nairobi for 2 nights on our arrival in Kenya. We chose the hotel based on its close proximity to JKIA but found out later that it was only a few minutes closer to the airport at morning rush hour than our favourite Nairobi hotel, the Fairview. The Boma is an impressive property design wise both inside & outside. The rooms are large & comfortable with every amenity you could require included. The main tower of the hotel has a large atrium at its centre and 2 observation lifts travel up & down this atrium. On the floor of this atrium is a bar & coffee shop that serves excellent coffee. There are 2 restaurants in the hotel. The main one up a few steps from the reception level is large and airy, this is where you take breakfast. In the evenings this is a buffet restaurant but we found the choices rather limited & the quality of food so so. The other choice is an a-la-carte restaurant down at basement level. It is not so visually attractive but you have all the usual food choices here. We had a lunch & a dinner here and the food is good rather than being excellent. The service is excellent in both restaurants. We went out one evening to visit the David Sheldrick wildlife centre and we used the hotel's own transport for this as we did to the Airport for our flight to Kilimanjaro the next day. We found their transport very good & reliable, also reasonably priced. We had used a pre-paid taxi service to get to the hotel on arrival (from inside the arrivals hall) and whilst their vehicle was brand new & supremely comfortable they were very keen on making money out of us. I had asked them about a transfer to Sheldricks when we arrived at the hotel & were told that we would need to be picked up from the Boma at 1.30 pm to arrive at Sheldricks for 5pm the next day. Fortunately I knew that was rubbish as we have been before & it is not necessary to depart from this hotel until 4.15 - 4.30pm to arrive at Sheldricks around 5pm. It is unfortunate but some are out to take advantage of tourists if they can. The hotel has free Wi Fi and it worked well in the rooms, Internet can be very slow or non existent in East Africa but here it is very good. We used the hotels laundry service and it was also very good and not too dear. All up a good hotel & a new one but a bit pricey considering the competition in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Some high rooms have a Nairobi City view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The Boma is a unique hotel in Nairobi.It has beautiful architecture both on the exterior and inside as well.The rooms are tastefully furnished and cater for all one's needs.The food is perhaps what takes the crown.Their chefs delight you in all aspects from starters to desserts from around the world.Extremely friendly staff who are willing to go out of their way to assist guests' needs.A true gem in Kenya

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.