We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel close to the Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel close to the Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at The Boma Nairobi for 2 nights on our arrival in Kenya. We chose the hotel based on its close proximity to JKIA but found out later that it was only a few minutes closer to the airport at morning rush hour than our favourite Nairobi hotel, the Fairview. The Boma is an impressive property design wise both inside & outside. The rooms are large & comfortable with every amenity you could require included. The main tower of the hotel has a large atrium at its centre and 2 observation lifts travel up & down this atrium. On the floor of this atrium is a bar & coffee shop that serves excellent coffee. There are 2 restaurants in the hotel. The main one up a few steps from the reception level is large and airy, this is where you take breakfast. In the evenings this is a buffet restaurant but we found the choices rather limited & the quality of food so so. The other choice is an a-la-carte restaurant down at basement level. It is not so visually attractive but you have all the usual food choices here. We had a lunch & a dinner here and the food is good rather than being excellent. The service is excellent in both restaurants. We went out one evening to visit the David Sheldrick wildlife centre and we used the hotel's own transport for this as we did to the Airport for our flight to Kilimanjaro the next day. We found their transport very good & reliable, also reasonably priced. We had used a pre-paid taxi service to get to the hotel on arrival (from inside the arrivals hall) and whilst their vehicle was brand new & supremely comfortable they were very keen on making money out of us. I had asked them about a transfer to Sheldricks when we arrived at the hotel & were told that we would need to be picked up from the Boma at 1.30 pm to arrive at Sheldricks for 5pm the next day. Fortunately I knew that was rubbish as we have been before & it is not necessary to depart from this hotel until 4.15 - 4.30pm to arrive at Sheldricks around 5pm. It is unfortunate but some are out to take advantage of tourists if they can. The hotel has free Wi Fi and it worked well in the rooms, Internet can be very slow or non existent in East Africa but here it is very good. We used the hotels laundry service and it was also very good and not too dear. All up a good hotel & a new one but a bit pricey considering the competition in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Some high rooms have a Nairobi City view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    86
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
36
73
22
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Boma is a unique hotel in Nairobi.It has beautiful architecture both on the exterior and inside as well.The rooms are tastefully furnished and cater for all one's needs.The food is perhaps what takes the crown.Their chefs delight you in all aspects from starters to desserts from around the world.Extremely friendly staff who are willing to go out of their way to assist guests' needs.A true gem in Kenya

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was looking for a place to spend a 9 hours layover that did not include the tents at JKIA. Boma fit the bill perfectly.

Upon arriving, I left my bag with the bellmen and arranged for a shuttle later that evening. I ate in the restaurant down stairs and loved the food. I had previously arranged (via email) spa services. I was offered a shower and steam before the treatments. The pre-shower was welcome given all of the dust from the bush. I then had three treatments with Milka and they were excellent. She was a charming, sweet woman who made me comfortable even though I was covered in bug bites and hadn't shaved in weeks. I used the ladies locker room to change clothes, refresh my makeup, and prep for the long trek back to the US. After another quick snack, I collected my bag from the bellman and took the shuttle ($15) to the airport without incident.

My experience at this facility was great. Good food, friendly people, great spa. Americans will feel comfortable here. I will return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We really enjoyed the size of the room here, and the size and security of the compound. The room had space between furnishings, an end bench at the foot of the bed, and coffee/tea set-up. There were many surfaces provided to spread out clothes and other items. The bathroom was quite acceptable. As is typical, the mattress was hard, but we brought camp mattresses.
The breakfast choices at the buffet were fantastic, with a great omelet station, as was the setting. I was unable to eat a full buffet but they provided a la carte options. The restaurant has great light and decor, including nifty tree-like lights.
The less-formal restaurant was OK.
The spa and pool area looked great; the pool was more of a real pool to enjoy rather than a showpiece for a fancy bar. The fitness room was large with much equipment.
Service was great. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and when we had a problem getting hot water an engineer came immediately and fixed quickly.
Location: as others have noted, it is as close as 15 minutes from JKIA airport (but may be longer depending upon traffic!) It IS a ride through traffic from Boma to downtown. However, that makes it much more quiet in the evening. Another advantage over a downtown location, however, is that it is a shorter ride to the Karen area of Nairobi (the Giraffe Center, Sheldrick Trust, the Bomas of Kenya, etc.).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night early August, very comfortable stay, free wifi great breakfast. Airport transfers all worked fine. Staff very helpful especially next morning when we could not return to airport because of fire, willing to try and arrange alternative transport for us but our own travel agent managed in the end.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My stay at The Boma was very short. Just enough time to check in, have some dinner and some wine, sleep off the travel, and head back out.

The staff and management were very friendly and very helpful. The place was very clean and the architecture was appealing. The food was delicious and the wine good too at a fair price. The hotel had its own gift shop that was appreciated as we were only in Nairobi for a short time and the International Airport terminal was shut down for a fire.

The hotel set up a ride for us to a small hard-to-find airline at the domestic Wilson Airport for a small fee and it went very smoothly.

The room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. There was not much of a view, but there's not much they can do about that. The wifi was free, but it was not explained well how to access it. We were there such a short time, I never called down to figure it out. Also, the shower leaked to the floor, but small problems for an otherwise very comfortable quick stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was at the Boma for a day early september 2013. Impeccable rooms, nice TV and connectivity offer, outstanding service,kind and professional, delicious dinner, and very conveniently located near the airport. Plus : it is owned by the red cross, so the profits go to an important cause : so indulge yourself and help people !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello toubabadakar,

Thank you for sharing your views.

We are excited that our team took good care of you during your brief visit to Nairobi. We hope you will contninue supporting on your return visits to our city.

Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.