We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel You would want to stay in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Hotel You would want to stay in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The boma offers luxurious services at all times. The stay there was nice, I enjoyed the well maintained rooms, the level of cleanliness is good, friendly staff and good diet.This hotel is well located near the airport, the stay was awesome! We would have wished to stay longer if we had time.
The lighting and security is excellent. The beds are very comfortable with wifi available all time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side are quiet and away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
HI africajoy,

Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our customers as they encourage and motivate us to maintain consistency or raise our game where we fall short of expectation.

Thank you and see you soon at The Boma.

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    90
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
39
80
24
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at The Boma for a night which we thoroughly enjoyed. All the staff we dealt with offered service with a smile and were all very helpful. The ambience was delightful. The room was superb and the food was great. The only niggle was water leaking out of the shower cubicle. We're both picky but we couldn't find anything else to moan about. Looking forward to our next stay at this fab hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello WW,
We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and hope that we will continue being part of your travel plans to our country. We have noted the challenge you faced in the shower cubicle and our team has already rectified it. We do not consider both of you as being picky since such observations help our team to pay attention to the smallest detail.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

When our family of 10 had our British Air flight cancelled due to to the airport fire,we had to spend the next 5 days at the Boma Hotel. BA's customer service was totally non-existent;they hung up on us and would not let us into their reservation office. The Boma Hotel and their excellent staff was like a light in the darkness. Our ages ranged from under 10 to over 70. The hotel staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was as pleasant as possible. They provided numerous transport activities and were always there when we needed assistance. John,the day manager,was so easy to work and gave much needed assistance. Another standout staff member was George Masime,the restaurant/food service manager. Needless to say,providing food service for a family of 10(that included a couple of very picky eaters) was not an easy task. George and his staff went out of their way to make sure all family members were well fed. They even arranged a breakfast birth party for our 11 year old grand son. THANK YOU GEORGE!! The hotel is less than a year old, but already provides an outstanding
lodging experience.
Hal McKay
Richardson,TX

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hal & Richardson,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are just relieved that you found comfort in our hotel considering the inconvenience and uncertainty over your travel. We have all applauded George and John for making you feel at home in our Boma.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived late one evening and had to leave early next morning to start our safari. We would have loved to stay longer as this was an absolutely lovely hotel.
Very handy from the airport, on south side of Nairobi.

We had room 2508, on fifth floor. Large quiet room, spotless white sheets, huge comfy bed, slippers and robes supplied, beautifully furnished bathroom with full bath, huge soft towels and plenty of toiletries.

As we were leaving early the next morning we ordered breakfast in our room at 0545.
There was a tray charge of 250 Kenyan Shillings - this is less than £2.
The breakfast was wheeled in on a table, not a tray, and what a breakfast! Juices, pots of coffee and hot milk, cereals and cold milk, plates of fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, yoghurt - everything we had ordered and more.

Superb reception staff who really cared. They checked with us and phoned our safari company when they realised we were waiting.
Without any hesitation, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 2508 was a very quiet room with excellent facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Annie,

Thank you very much for the review.

Our team is elated that they succeeded in making your short stay memorable. We hope that your travels will lead you back to the Boma soon.

Enjoy the rest of your safari.

Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Comfortable bed. A great breakfast each morning. Other reviewers mentioned a problem with not having hot water in the shower. From experience, I just let the water run for a bit and it was fine. I paid $200 a night for a large single. Expensive, but worth it considering the options. The only issue I had was that the bathroom walls are made of frosted glass. Is this really appealing to couples, families, or traveling friends to see their traveling partners silhouettes in the shower or on the can? I might be prudish, but this is a strange concept for me. I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Xosgul,
Thank you for your feedback.
We have noted your reservations about the frosted glass. As a listening hotel, we will look at the possibility of blacking out some rooms on each floor for customers who might be uncomfortable with the design.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A lovely, modern, new hotel and in many ways an oasis of calm in the middle of Nairobi - or at least it would be if it was in the middle of Nairobi! It's handy for the airport but not much good if you want to explore downtown and/or have a fun night out. Yes the hotel can provide a driver and a car but at considerable cost and the traffic day and night in Nairobi is pretty bad. It can take hours to get anywhere.

Plus points - staff are great, nice looking, pleasant, good fun, keen to please. Rooms are large and well appointed
Minus points - shower didn't provide water at a consistent temperature; noise from next door room was obtrusive at times; lifts not always working properly.

Ultimately the hotel is a bit boring but if you just want to relax and get some peace and quiet this could be a good place for you. And you can leave getting to the airport until fairly late!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Jeremy P,
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. Our team is encouraged for recognizing them and they have promised to work even harder on the minus points to make your next stay perfect.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel, open for under a year, is beautifully decorated and creatively and functionally designed. The room was comfortable and with full amenities. Wifi was easily accessed. The breakfast in the dining room was excellent with full buffet and egg station. The servers were very attentive. The reception staff were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Cyprusdean,
Thank you for sharing your views about our hotel and service. Our team is quite motivated by your kind words and we hope you will find the same consistency on your return visit.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.