We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have loved to stay longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Antrim, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Would have loved to stay longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived late one evening and had to leave early next morning to start our safari. We would have loved to stay longer as this was an absolutely lovely hotel.
Very handy from the airport, on south side of Nairobi.

We had room 2508, on fifth floor. Large quiet room, spotless white sheets, huge comfy bed, slippers and robes supplied, beautifully furnished bathroom with full bath, huge soft towels and plenty of toiletries.

As we were leaving early the next morning we ordered breakfast in our room at 0545.
There was a tray charge of 250 Kenyan Shillings - this is less than £2.
The breakfast was wheeled in on a table, not a tray, and what a breakfast! Juices, pots of coffee and hot milk, cereals and cold milk, plates of fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, yoghurt - everything we had ordered and more.

Superb reception staff who really cared. They checked with us and phoned our safari company when they realised we were waiting.
Without any hesitation, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 2508 was a very quiet room with excellent facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Annie,

Thank you very much for the review.

Our team is elated that they succeeded in making your short stay memorable. We hope that your travels will lead you back to the Boma soon.

Enjoy the rest of your safari.

Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    79
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
34
65
21
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Comfortable bed. A great breakfast each morning. Other reviewers mentioned a problem with not having hot water in the shower. From experience, I just let the water run for a bit and it was fine. I paid $200 a night for a large single. Expensive, but worth it considering the options. The only issue I had was that the bathroom walls are made of frosted glass. Is this really appealing to couples, families, or traveling friends to see their traveling partners silhouettes in the shower or on the can? I might be prudish, but this is a strange concept for me. I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Xosgul,
Thank you for your feedback.
We have noted your reservations about the frosted glass. As a listening hotel, we will look at the possibility of blacking out some rooms on each floor for customers who might be uncomfortable with the design.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A lovely, modern, new hotel and in many ways an oasis of calm in the middle of Nairobi - or at least it would be if it was in the middle of Nairobi! It's handy for the airport but not much good if you want to explore downtown and/or have a fun night out. Yes the hotel can provide a driver and a car but at considerable cost and the traffic day and night in Nairobi is pretty bad. It can take hours to get anywhere.

Plus points - staff are great, nice looking, pleasant, good fun, keen to please. Rooms are large and well appointed
Minus points - shower didn't provide water at a consistent temperature; noise from next door room was obtrusive at times; lifts not always working properly.

Ultimately the hotel is a bit boring but if you just want to relax and get some peace and quiet this could be a good place for you. And you can leave getting to the airport until fairly late!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Jeremy P,
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. Our team is encouraged for recognizing them and they have promised to work even harder on the minus points to make your next stay perfect.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel, open for under a year, is beautifully decorated and creatively and functionally designed. The room was comfortable and with full amenities. Wifi was easily accessed. The breakfast in the dining room was excellent with full buffet and egg station. The servers were very attentive. The reception staff were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Cyprusdean,
Thank you for sharing your views about our hotel and service. Our team is quite motivated by your kind words and we hope you will find the same consistency on your return visit.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We couldn't get home, but this hotel made us feel at home!! Due to the fire at the Nairobi airport, we were stranded at this hotel. I can not tell you how nice, accommodating, sincere, that the whole staff was!! They genuinely felt sorry for us!
I must say that the "one" employee that stood out to me was the restaurant manager George Masime. I can't say enough about his generosity and friendliness. His smile every time I saw him really warmed my heart!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Lisa,
I hope you have put behind the nightmare caused by the fire incident at the airport. We understanding the inconvenience and frustration of not knowing when you will actual get on the plane. We are however happy that the team was able to ease that anxiety, especially George. We have recognizing for being the perfect host.
Thank you
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Incredible rooms - larger than other good hotels we stayed in and we had two rooms adjoining with internal door - great for close family or friends. Amazing service and a la carte menu really good value - superb main course around £10 and sweet £5. Buffet breakfast was the largest choice we have had anywhere.Just 10 mins taxi from Nairobi airport

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Jeremy P,
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. Our team is encouraged for recognizing them and they have promised to work even harder on the minus points to make your next stay perfect.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After staying in a complete dump last time we were in Nairobi I was pleasantly surprised by the Boma. I am not sure I would give this hotel 4 stars if it were located in another city, but it's decent for Nairobi (albeit a bit pricey). The main benefit to the hotel is its location which is fairly close to both the international (Kenyatta) and main domestic airport (Wilson). I say "close" but that's also dependent on traffic - 15 minutes at 5:30am on a Monday morning and about an hour at 9pm on a Sunday evening! Beware...

The hotel is fairly new so everything is in good condition. The rooms are sizeable and have pretty much everything you might want like a nifty device charging outlet with lots of different sockets/connections. There are a few rough edges (the hot water was a bit dodgy first thing in the morning and the AC wasn't quite as cold as I would have liked), but this place is fine as a transit stop on your way to/from Nairobi. The staff were friendly although we had a bit of a mixup with an airport pick-up (it never turned up). The buffet breakfast was fine as was the dinner at the casual restaurant one night. Nothing amazing, but fine as a stopover destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Blackers79,
Thank you for the review.
We have taken note of the areas where we did not “wow” you and our team will work on them to bridge the gap from ordinary to extra ordinary.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.