We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but rather boring...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not bad but rather boring...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A lovely, modern, new hotel and in many ways an oasis of calm in the middle of Nairobi - or at least it would be if it was in the middle of Nairobi! It's handy for the airport but not much good if you want to explore downtown and/or have a fun night out. Yes the hotel can provide a driver and a car but at considerable cost and the traffic day and night in Nairobi is pretty bad. It can take hours to get anywhere.

Plus points - staff are great, nice looking, pleasant, good fun, keen to please. Rooms are large and well appointed
Minus points - shower didn't provide water at a consistent temperature; noise from next door room was obtrusive at times; lifts not always working properly.

Ultimately the hotel is a bit boring but if you just want to relax and get some peace and quiet this could be a good place for you. And you can leave getting to the airport until fairly late!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Jeremy P,
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. Our team is encouraged for recognizing them and they have promised to work even harder on the minus points to make your next stay perfect.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    90
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
37
76
24
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel, open for under a year, is beautifully decorated and creatively and functionally designed. The room was comfortable and with full amenities. Wifi was easily accessed. The breakfast in the dining room was excellent with full buffet and egg station. The servers were very attentive. The reception staff were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Cyprusdean,
Thank you for sharing your views about our hotel and service. Our team is quite motivated by your kind words and we hope you will find the same consistency on your return visit.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We couldn't get home, but this hotel made us feel at home!! Due to the fire at the Nairobi airport, we were stranded at this hotel. I can not tell you how nice, accommodating, sincere, that the whole staff was!! They genuinely felt sorry for us!
I must say that the "one" employee that stood out to me was the restaurant manager George Masime. I can't say enough about his generosity and friendliness. His smile every time I saw him really warmed my heart!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Lisa,
I hope you have put behind the nightmare caused by the fire incident at the airport. We understanding the inconvenience and frustration of not knowing when you will actual get on the plane. We are however happy that the team was able to ease that anxiety, especially George. We have recognizing for being the perfect host.
Thank you
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Incredible rooms - larger than other good hotels we stayed in and we had two rooms adjoining with internal door - great for close family or friends. Amazing service and a la carte menu really good value - superb main course around £10 and sweet £5. Buffet breakfast was the largest choice we have had anywhere.Just 10 mins taxi from Nairobi airport

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Jeremy P,
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. Our team is encouraged for recognizing them and they have promised to work even harder on the minus points to make your next stay perfect.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After staying in a complete dump last time we were in Nairobi I was pleasantly surprised by the Boma. I am not sure I would give this hotel 4 stars if it were located in another city, but it's decent for Nairobi (albeit a bit pricey). The main benefit to the hotel is its location which is fairly close to both the international (Kenyatta) and main domestic airport (Wilson). I say "close" but that's also dependent on traffic - 15 minutes at 5:30am on a Monday morning and about an hour at 9pm on a Sunday evening! Beware...

The hotel is fairly new so everything is in good condition. The rooms are sizeable and have pretty much everything you might want like a nifty device charging outlet with lots of different sockets/connections. There are a few rough edges (the hot water was a bit dodgy first thing in the morning and the AC wasn't quite as cold as I would have liked), but this place is fine as a transit stop on your way to/from Nairobi. The staff were friendly although we had a bit of a mixup with an airport pick-up (it never turned up). The buffet breakfast was fine as was the dinner at the casual restaurant one night. Nothing amazing, but fine as a stopover destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, General Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Blackers79,
Thank you for the review.
We have taken note of the areas where we did not “wow” you and our team will work on them to bridge the gap from ordinary to extra ordinary.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After a gruelling two weeks of camping I was really looking forward to having a hot shower more than anything. The shower in my room was lukewarm at best so I called for it to be fixed. The reception phone was not answered so I had to try housekeeping. 

After contacting the staff maintenance came to my room, however after 20 minutes or so had not fixed the problem. I asked for a progress update and was told it was just my room and not the whole floor. I called reception (which again, went unanswered for some time) and requested a new room as soon as possible (at this stage I was still waiting in a dressing gown and getting understandably impatient).

For a hotel of this calibre I would have expected the staff to offer me a new room if the problem with the shower couldn't be solved within five minutes or so (without me having to call and request the same). The room change could have been quicker but at least the shower was hot (although not particularly powerful due to the large rain shower design). The rain shower design also meant that the bathroom flooded when I used the shower.

Food: I ordered a burger from room service. It was horrible: grey, mushy "beef" and not cheap (approx US$13). On check out I explained and requested it was taken off the bill. The manager accommodated my request and did seem genuinely appreciative of constructive criticism. I tried again the following evening with a seafood linguine - much better.

The positives: the front of house staff are polite and welcoming and maintenance were very polite and apologetic (the room service staff ought to stick a smile on their faces). The bed is a good size and comfortable. The TV has a couple of decent channels, the AC works and there are nice, soft robes and slippers. 

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello CandyMountain,

Thank you for the candid views on your experience at our hotel. We understand how frustrating it must have been for you when things went wrong one after another with no timely intervention from any member of our team members. We have a quality control system in place with built in checks and follow ups to ensure consistency of service delivery. Obviously, some of us in the chain went to slept and we deeply regret for the subsequent inconvenient caused to you. We have taken corrective action and we are confident the rest of the team will stick to the game plan for the comfort of our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards,

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked a room here after my Masai Mara safari as i needed something close to the airport. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, the restaurant had a lovely buffet for both dinner and breakfast but I couldn't help but be a bit disappointed by the room. It cost me around 200GBP for the night and the room just didn't reflect this. Nairobi definitely seems to operate on London prices where you either pay quite a lot for questionable accommodation or a LOT for something a little more solid but not amazing.
I would class it as a business hotel and for this purpose I would be perfectly satisfied. I would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello lucym7,

Thank you for sharing your views on our hotel. We have taken note of your feedback on the competitiveness of our rates and disappointment with your room. We will contact you under different cover for details of our failings in the room for purposes of taking corrective measures.

Thank you once again and we do appreciate your willingness to support us in future.

Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.