We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean, new, near the airport... and the profits go to the Red Cross” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent, clean, new, near the airport... and the profits go to the Red Cross”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a nice place as it is near Nairobi (NBO) airport. The hotel is excellent, clean, new, near the airport... and the profits go to the Red Cross. Incredible service. Free wifi (for now at least).

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the traffic and are in Nairobi only for a few days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Good day Thierry_S0phie,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured that WIFI being a critical business tool will continue being offered at no extra cost to our customers.

Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    79
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
34
65
21
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for one night (3rd Aug 2013) as honeymooners and all I can say is that I hope to get such good service and courteous staff in our hotel in Dubai where we are going for our honeymoon. The room was also excellent and very well prepared for a romantic stay. Thanks to all staff and management - Mr and Mrs Maina Gatheru.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Maina,
Congratulations!
We feel privileged for the opportunity to host you as you celebrated this important milestone in your lives. We hope we will continue being in your plans along this beautiful journey.
Enjoy your honeymoon.
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Rooms are very well appointed. Spacious. Friendly staff. Common areas are superb. Restaurant served up an excellent breakfast. Smooth check in check out process. Very good gift shop. Housekeeping is responsive and friendly. Little touches like bathroom robes and room slippers show attention to detail.

Only glitch is bathroom shower stalls are small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Jack D,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel products and service. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, the challenge with shower stalls notwithstanding.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful property on a one-night layover in Nairobi. Definitely a five-star experience. Close to the airport. Lobby and rooms are beautiful and very well furnished. The restaurant is first class. Well equipped gym and spa. Best of all is the amazing hospitality from the moment you arrive till the time you leave. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello Rod S,
The pleasure was all ours for the opportunity to host you. We hope you will create time to visit us again on your return visit to Nairobi.
Thank you
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The BOMA is a great place to stay before/after your safari trip. It is conveniently located and it is close to JOMO Kenyatta International Airport. The staff is friendly and helpful with a smile on their face at all times! We were greeted by one of their drivers when we arrived at the airport (we had pre arranged this via email, the staff responds quickly to emails). His friendliness and great sense of humor made our short drive to the BOMA fun after a long day of traveling. The doormen and the restaurant staff were also great. The food choices were plentiful at the restaurant- their mushroom soup was delicious! We even asked for seconds!
The hotel is modern and has great amenities. Great free WiFi- one of the best connections we've had in Africa. The rooms are clean and spacious even with a king bed. Our flight the next day was late so we asked for a late check out time and we were granted it free of charge and without a problem. The BOMA is where you should stay when visiting Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Adriana,
Thank you for sharing your views regarding our hotel. We are happy to have met your expectations and we hope you will accord us an opportunity to host you again.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel that offers luxury rooms with a great service, quality food at the restaurant and a top notch gym for a fitness fanatic like me, the BOMA is the place to stay in Nairobi.

We stayed in a business suite for three nights. The room is very spacious with a comfortable queen size bed. All amenities are very new and of high quality. What's really impressive is the level of service we have received. The staff are very friendly, helpful and genuine. We felt relaxed and very welcome during our stay.

Having stayed in some of the best hotels in the world, the Waldorf in New York, the Ritz in London, BOMA has surprisingly exceeded our expectations in every aspect. We received a very personal service from the general manager on our last day. They do make their guests' satisfaction their top priority, and it shines through in everything they do.

We didn't realise that all proceeds from the BOMA are contributing to the Red Cross organisation. This has made our stay feel even more worthwhile.

Room Tip: The business suites are amazing, it's situated the end of the corridor with an exclusive entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello Mengpriscilla,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We endeavor to not only offer first class facilities, but also create an environment where you can truly feel at home.

Thank you.

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at Boma hotel for a week in Nairobi. We had 2 rooms as we are a family of four. As we checked in one of the room allocated to us was actually under construction. The room did not have a compete bed, there was dust and dirt all over the room.

The room was changed immediately - but of course. However as I approached the staff, there was not one word of apology. It's almost like - ya that was wrong, we are fixing it. That's seemed more like the attitude all through.

On the final day I was wanting for a late check out. The lady at the front desk started with asking me to pay a full day tariff for a late checked out! It almost became like a negotiation in a fish market!!!!

Overall the property is okay..... The staff can learn to be more hospitable and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Neelesh T,
I hope your journey back home was pleasant.
We have noted with regret the attitude exhibited by some of our staff. We have identified those concerned and corrective action has been taken to ensure that no other guest is made to feel like being served is a favour. The hotel has a policy on dayroom policy that is applied flexibly depending on our level of occupancy. It is unfortunate that our staff was not accommodating enough.
Thank you once again for your feedback and custom.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.