We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for one night (3rd Aug 2013) as honeymooners and all I can say is that I hope to get such good service and courteous staff in our hotel in Dubai where we are going for our honeymoon. The room was also excellent and very well prepared for a romantic stay. Thanks to all staff and management - Mr and Mrs Maina Gatheru.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Maina,
Congratulations!
We feel privileged for the opportunity to host you as you celebrated this important milestone in your lives. We hope we will continue being in your plans along this beautiful journey.
Enjoy your honeymoon.
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    55
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
50
14
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timbuktu, Mali
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Rooms are very well appointed. Spacious. Friendly staff. Common areas are superb. Restaurant served up an excellent breakfast. Smooth check in check out process. Very good gift shop. Housekeeping is responsive and friendly. Little touches like bathroom robes and room slippers show attention to detail.

Only glitch is bathroom shower stalls are small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Jack D,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel products and service. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, the challenge with shower stalls notwithstanding.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful property on a one-night layover in Nairobi. Definitely a five-star experience. Close to the airport. Lobby and rooms are beautiful and very well furnished. The restaurant is first class. Well equipped gym and spa. Best of all is the amazing hospitality from the moment you arrive till the time you leave. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello Rod S,
The pleasure was all ours for the opportunity to host you. We hope you will create time to visit us again on your return visit to Nairobi.
Thank you
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The BOMA is a great place to stay before/after your safari trip. It is conveniently located and it is close to JOMO Kenyatta International Airport. The staff is friendly and helpful with a smile on their face at all times! We were greeted by one of their drivers when we arrived at the airport (we had pre arranged this via email, the staff responds quickly to emails). His friendliness and great sense of humor made our short drive to the BOMA fun after a long day of traveling. The doormen and the restaurant staff were also great. The food choices were plentiful at the restaurant- their mushroom soup was delicious! We even asked for seconds!
The hotel is modern and has great amenities. Great free WiFi- one of the best connections we've had in Africa. The rooms are clean and spacious even with a king bed. Our flight the next day was late so we asked for a late check out time and we were granted it free of charge and without a problem. The BOMA is where you should stay when visiting Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Adriana,
Thank you for sharing your views regarding our hotel. We are happy to have met your expectations and we hope you will accord us an opportunity to host you again.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel that offers luxury rooms with a great service, quality food at the restaurant and a top notch gym for a fitness fanatic like me, the BOMA is the place to stay in Nairobi.

We stayed in a business suite for three nights. The room is very spacious with a comfortable queen size bed. All amenities are very new and of high quality. What's really impressive is the level of service we have received. The staff are very friendly, helpful and genuine. We felt relaxed and very welcome during our stay.

Having stayed in some of the best hotels in the world, the Waldorf in New York, the Ritz in London, BOMA has surprisingly exceeded our expectations in every aspect. We received a very personal service from the general manager on our last day. They do make their guests' satisfaction their top priority, and it shines through in everything they do.

We didn't realise that all proceeds from the BOMA are contributing to the Red Cross organisation. This has made our stay feel even more worthwhile.

Room Tip: The business suites are amazing, it's situated the end of the corridor with an exclusive entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello Mengpriscilla,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We endeavor to not only offer first class facilities, but also create an environment where you can truly feel at home.

Thank you.

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at Boma hotel for a week in Nairobi. We had 2 rooms as we are a family of four. As we checked in one of the room allocated to us was actually under construction. The room did not have a compete bed, there was dust and dirt all over the room.

The room was changed immediately - but of course. However as I approached the staff, there was not one word of apology. It's almost like - ya that was wrong, we are fixing it. That's seemed more like the attitude all through.

On the final day I was wanting for a late check out. The lady at the front desk started with asking me to pay a full day tariff for a late checked out! It almost became like a negotiation in a fish market!!!!

Overall the property is okay..... The staff can learn to be more hospitable and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Neelesh T,
I hope your journey back home was pleasant.
We have noted with regret the attitude exhibited by some of our staff. We have identified those concerned and corrective action has been taken to ensure that no other guest is made to feel like being served is a favour. The hotel has a policy on dayroom policy that is applied flexibly depending on our level of occupancy. It is unfortunate that our staff was not accommodating enough.
Thank you once again for your feedback and custom.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The BOMA is a new hotel (It opened in early 2013 I believe) that's operated by the Kenyan Red Cross with proceeds benefitting the organization. The non-profit link is great but make no mistake about it, the BOMA is not a charity. There's easily an average 300% mark-up on items sold in the hotel and don't get me started on their in-house taxi. My guess is that it's not that much different than most other tourist haunts.

The pluses: they do a great job with guest relations and guest services and for the most part appear to hire great smiles and coach them up on the rest. Charles our waiter at the Johari restaurant was particularly attentive and courteous. The rooms were spacious and well-appointment and I particularly enjoyed the shower. The girl at the coffee shop also makes a great cappuccino.

The minuses: the food is atrocious!! There's really no other way to put it. They try, they really do with fancy place settings and attention to every little detail but the food quality and flavor is just not there and if it doesn't get fixed they'll lose a good percentage of their clientele over it. Breakfast was unmemorable except for the fresh fruit and some of the meat (sausage, etc) and eggs were consistently overcooked.

Lunch and dinner were equally unremarkable and I actually had to call to complain about our room service meal to which they responded by comp'ing our dinner (Thanks Restaurant Manager Gregory) The problem with the food is two-fold. First, by nature Kenyans don't do whole lot to flavor their food outside of salt, pepper and mchuzi mix. Any real spices are usually in Indian dishes they've acquired over time. Second, the chefs and cooks (except for the pastry chef) seem to lack the subtle skills needed to execute western dishes instead applying the 'cook it till it's dead" philosophy. The chicken and beef are consistently dry and so is the fish and while Kenya is blessed with an abundance of produce it often gets lost in the overcooked/overbaked wash.

I ordered the french onion soup and while the menu promised a gruyere encrusted crostini it seemed more like a floating crouton and my wife's chicken burger (or whatever that was) was indiscernible and whatever you do, DO NOT order the Tembo Club Sandwich. For what it's worth I think they mean well and can right the ship but they need to get the food under control ASAP. I'd even be happy to share my food knowledge in helping them improve. I'll sum up the food by saying this, after 2 days of disappointing meals we headed over to City Centre to grab a bite at the Nairobi Java House only to find what seems like half the hotel guests eating there too. That says it all.

In summary, great property, very good guest relations, overpriced goods and services, and the food could use a major overhaul.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dooly365,

Dooly365,
Thank you for your elaborate feedback on our products and services. We feel really chastised, justifiably so for our failings especially on the quality of food.
Our chef feels greatly challenged to the extent that he has offered free meals to you and your dear wife every time you are in Nairobi until you give him a good grade for creativity, presentation, taste and consistency. Please honor him with your presence as he and his team work on the recipes. He is also not shy to accept any tips you may have as all his effort is geared towards meeting your culinary needs.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.