We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay but don't try the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay but don't try the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Excellent place, great service, very neat and hygiene place stay. But not a place where you can expect good food. Boma has to do a lot of re-work on the dishes they serve. Food was aweful and I even fell sick (with tummy upsets). For the kind kind of property, food actually dets the image of Boma.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Good day ShineSoans,
Thank you for sharing your views regarding our property. We regret for the illness during your stay with us as understand that an upset stomach is not only an inconvenience but quite uncomfortable especially with tight meeting schedules.

During the course of your stay, we had over 300 customers on a daily basis. Apart from you, no other customer has brought to our attention the issues of food quality and hygiene. Our Chef will therefore contact you for more details in an effort to determine where our quality control system might have been compromised.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Regards
Aggrey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    72
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
32
60
16
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Have been in this hotel for different functions and i have found the place very good for people who want to do serious business,have conferences or meetings,or just have a quiet time of relaxation to reflect on life.the hotel is clean,food excellent and the ambiance great.The staff are courteous and well groomed they lighten ones day in the hotel. The rooms are well organized with well selected furniture which makes the room look executive,Ooh can't forget the cool music in the lifts you hardly notice that you are moving up or down The welcome a you get to the dinning hall up your appetite.MY conclusion its the best hotel you should look for.in town you will get value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hello Philomena,
Thank you for giving us a chance to serve you. We are particularly happy that we were able to take good care of you and we look forward for a chance to host you again.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here because of its proximity to the airport and was thoroughly impressed with the place. I had pre-booked a car from the airport and the driver was punctual and professional. So even before my arrival and check-in, I was already impressed. The room was very spacious and the lounge and restaurants were quite good. Overall, very friendly staff and very accommodating. Only downside was the metal detectors before you enter the lobby. But then again, they have those in every hotel in East Africa!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello bbslagosone,

We are happy that all the arrangements we made for you met your expectations. We know the metal detectors are sometimes an inconvenience but we request for our customers indulgence as it has become a necessity.

Thank you once again for your custom and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is my first stay at the Boma and compared with previous hotels I have stayed in, in Nairobi it is brilliant. The rooms are very well appointed and very quiet. The hotel was very, very busy over the weekend with a conference but this did not interfere at all with my stay. We had dinner in the Johari Restaurant and I can highly recommend it. I will certainly be coming back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
nickandsheree,

Thank you for your feedback. We are grateful for your patronage and commendation. See you at The Boma soon!

Regards,

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortgene, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Sorry, could not find anything wrong in this hotel !! Simply the best in Nairobi for me !! Have stayed in the Boma several times now and everything was perfect all times. Pick up service on time, rooms super and clean, restaurant great food, reception fantastic, spa, gym and swimmingpool great staff and special thank to George Karanja ( allways there to assist you ) !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Okke,
We are delighted that our team has consistently met your expectations. George is grateful for your compliments and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I travel a lot and this is a first. I left my camera in the room on Wednesday 5th June. Imagine my surprise when I got home to find a photograph, not taken by me, of the hotel room with the door wide open, a bucket clearly in view and a broom against the hotel door. Whether the intention was to steal the camera and someone else entered the room or what, I'll never know. However, fortunately, the camera was left where it was. I did wonder why everything on the desk appeared to have been rummaged through. How do I know it wasn't me - well the photo has all the file details and I was out of the hotel at a meeting at the time. Quite shocking for a hotel that prides itself in terms of its relationship with the Red Cross. Be warned!

Room Tip: Look for a room away from the adjacent building site.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day RTW999,

Thank you for your feedback.

We hang our heads in shame at the photographic endeavors of one of our staff. The cardinal rule in our business is respect for our guests' privacy and we failed miserably this time round. The security of your belongings is assured as our electronic key cards and CCTV systems enables us to track movement in and out of guest rooms. The staff concerned has owned up and regrets playing around with your camera. He has been counseled and we are sure that he and his colleagues are unlikely to test any of their other "skills" on guests' properties.

RTW999, we hope this isolated incident has not irreparably changed your perception of our hotel and we hope to host you again on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you and regards

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights , it is close to the airport , very nice for it price , good food and good rooms . Good andnice breakfast . It is in a mutual ownership with red cross hotel which is less good . Perfect hotel for business people .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Zoran999,
Thank you for your custom and comments. We know you have many choices in Nairobi and we glad you elected to stay with us.

About our ownership, the Kenya Red Cross Society invested in the business for sustainability of their humanitarian activities. We therefore hope that you will continue supporting us in our effort to raise funds for good causes.

Thank you once again and hopore to see youi soon.

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.