We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gorgeous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Have been in this hotel for different functions and i have found the place very good for people who want to do serious business,have conferences or meetings,or just have a quiet time of relaxation to reflect on life.the hotel is clean,food excellent and the ambiance great.The staff are courteous and well groomed they lighten ones day in the hotel. The rooms are well organized with well selected furniture which makes the room look executive,Ooh can't forget the cool music in the lifts you hardly notice that you are moving up or down The welcome a you get to the dinning hall up your appetite.MY conclusion its the best hotel you should look for.in town you will get value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hello Philomena,
Thank you for giving us a chance to serve you. We are particularly happy that we were able to take good care of you and we look forward for a chance to host you again.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    122
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
57
102
30
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here because of its proximity to the airport and was thoroughly impressed with the place. I had pre-booked a car from the airport and the driver was punctual and professional. So even before my arrival and check-in, I was already impressed. The room was very spacious and the lounge and restaurants were quite good. Overall, very friendly staff and very accommodating. Only downside was the metal detectors before you enter the lobby. But then again, they have those in every hotel in East Africa!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello bbslagosone,

We are happy that all the arrangements we made for you met your expectations. We know the metal detectors are sometimes an inconvenience but we request for our customers indulgence as it has become a necessity.

Thank you once again for your custom and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is my first stay at the Boma and compared with previous hotels I have stayed in, in Nairobi it is brilliant. The rooms are very well appointed and very quiet. The hotel was very, very busy over the weekend with a conference but this did not interfere at all with my stay. We had dinner in the Johari Restaurant and I can highly recommend it. I will certainly be coming back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
nickandsheree,

Thank you for your feedback. We are grateful for your patronage and commendation. See you at The Boma soon!

Regards,

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortgene, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Sorry, could not find anything wrong in this hotel !! Simply the best in Nairobi for me !! Have stayed in the Boma several times now and everything was perfect all times. Pick up service on time, rooms super and clean, restaurant great food, reception fantastic, spa, gym and swimmingpool great staff and special thank to George Karanja ( allways there to assist you ) !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Okke,
We are delighted that our team has consistently met your expectations. George is grateful for your compliments and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I travel a lot and this is a first. I left my camera in the room on Wednesday 5th June. Imagine my surprise when I got home to find a photograph, not taken by me, of the hotel room with the door wide open, a bucket clearly in view and a broom against the hotel door. Whether the intention was to steal the camera and someone else entered the room or what, I'll never know. However, fortunately, the camera was left where it was. I did wonder why everything on the desk appeared to have been rummaged through. How do I know it wasn't me - well the photo has all the file details and I was out of the hotel at a meeting at the time. Quite shocking for a hotel that prides itself in terms of its relationship with the Red Cross. Be warned!

Room Tip: Look for a room away from the adjacent building site.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day RTW999,

Thank you for your feedback.

We hang our heads in shame at the photographic endeavors of one of our staff. The cardinal rule in our business is respect for our guests' privacy and we failed miserably this time round. The security of your belongings is assured as our electronic key cards and CCTV systems enables us to track movement in and out of guest rooms. The staff concerned has owned up and regrets playing around with your camera. He has been counseled and we are sure that he and his colleagues are unlikely to test any of their other "skills" on guests' properties.

RTW999, we hope this isolated incident has not irreparably changed your perception of our hotel and we hope to host you again on your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you and regards

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights , it is close to the airport , very nice for it price , good food and good rooms . Good andnice breakfast . It is in a mutual ownership with red cross hotel which is less good . Perfect hotel for business people .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Zoran999,
Thank you for your custom and comments. We know you have many choices in Nairobi and we glad you elected to stay with us.

About our ownership, the Kenya Red Cross Society invested in the business for sustainability of their humanitarian activities. We therefore hope that you will continue supporting us in our effort to raise funds for good causes.

Thank you once again and hopore to see youi soon.

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had the most fabulous stay at The Boma. Excellent airport pickup at 2.30pm. Easy check-in. Friendly staff. Rooms - roomy and clean. Good variety of restaurants and food. Just a lovely stay made even more pleasant by the courteous, ever helpful staff - who not only smile but have a good sense of humour. Just wish they had the same attitude here in Nigeria.
Location between Nairobi Central and airport which was brilliant as you avoided the city traffic. No noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggrey B, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi Krikken,
Thank you for sharing your views about our hotel. We are encouraged by your compliments and we hope you will find the same consistency on your return visit to our property.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
8.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 132 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.