We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful stopover"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Wonderful stopover"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a wonderful stopover for the day in this hotel, as a result of a technical delay in my connecting flight to Europe. The staff were very attentive and friendly. My room was extremely well equipped for the traveller or the business client. Buffet breakfast was excellent.The lifeguard (Albert?) was very helpful and took me on a tour of the spa and gym, which were impressive. Thank you for making my stopover less stressful. If I am ever in Kenya again I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Good day Valerie,
I hope you finally made it to your destination.
Thank you for taking the time to share your views about our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your brief stay with us and Albert our lifeguard is elated with the recognition. we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Regards,
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    73
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
60
16
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here when in transit in Nairobi and the cab ride was 15 mins (night time) from the airport. My room was very luxurious and well-equipped. Free wifi was much appreciated. Comfortable bed and quiet, so I got a good night's sleep. The staff I met were charming and welcoming and I was very impressed by the buffet breakfast. Highly recommended for a stop-over.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi Tim,
Thank you for your feedback. Our team is excited and motivated by your kind words.
We hope to see you again soon.
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Boma Hotel in Nairobi for just less than two weeks. It was a beautiful hotel and the room was lovely and spacious. Everything was very clean. The staff were very friendly and attentive, they always did a little extra than expected on a consistent basis. The breakfast buffet was lovely in the mornings in the buffet room or on the patio. I was most impressed with the honesty of the staff. I actually lost my iphone in a Boma hotel taxi, and when I returned to the hotel 5 hours later they had it waiting for me. On that note the Boma taxi drivers were lovely and I felt safe driving around Nairobi with them.

The thing I like most about this hotel is that it is run by the Kenya Red Cross, which means the profits go towards local community projects instead of to a multinational corporation like other luxury hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good day L.S.
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our team is encouraged by your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

great service. good location and nice ambience.
Not for vegetarians. limited selection. Nothing for vegetarians for the main course.
not value for money.
They need to cater for vegetarians.
mostly all the diners were attending seminars so that they must have catered for them.
i hope they cater for vegetarians and shall visit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello Raju21,
Thank you for your feedback regarding our buffet selection. Our Chef and his team have taken note of the lack of balance on the buffet and they regret that. While Chef Archie is playing around with vegetarian recipes, he is also flexible enough to accommodate any culinary challenge you may through his way.
Thank you once again for your custom and we look forward to your return to The Boma.

Regards

Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a very leisurely lunch at this hotel on Saturday lunch time during our trip go Nairobi,the hotel is fabulous and the food the same.We had the most beautiful fish cooked to perfection and the portions were humongous,if you get the chance eat at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good day Auburnaura,
Thank you for sharing the meal experience. It is gratifying to note that our offering met your expectations and we look forward to an opportunity to serve once again.
Kind regards
Aggrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

New and comfortable hotel where we moved after the 1st night at the Hilton Nairobi which was old and in a noisy area.
The best thing of this hotel is the charm and kindness of their employees. It was much better than expected. To enhance the figure of Mrs. Irene Avoga, Sales Account Manager who was specially nice and helpfull to us. We appreciate very much her professionality and wills to help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for taking time to share your very impressive feedback following your recent visit to Nairobi.

We are humbled by your comments and happy that our product accompanied by our dedicated team ensured that your stay is memorable.

We will share your comments with all our team, especially Irene.

We look forward to hosting you again on your future trips to Nairobi.


Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000| (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had to overnight in Nairobi after a last minute change with Kenya airlines Grrrr. We chose Boma after trip advisor reviews and have to say that our only disappointment was that we could not spend longer there!. We were upgraded on arrival to connecting rooms, which meant that our family was together, the staff could not do enough to assist us. The rooms were amazing, the staff did everything possible to ensure that we were comfortable and settled, given that the booking was last minute and our arrival late our expectations were low. Regardless of how short our stay was, the first class treatment we received was impressive to say the least. Thank you so much to the staff. If and when we travel back to Nairobi the Boma will without a doubt, will be our choice of hotel. P.s breakfast buffet was also fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.