We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel near airport, good with teething problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“New hotel near airport, good with teething problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a very good place to stay your first or last night in Nairobi, as it is near the airport - 15 minutes by car on a Sunday morning. The hotel was inaugerated just a few months ago when we stayed. It looks very nice and staff is great. There was a problem with noise (A/C unit + outside fan) in the room we got, but the staff were very helpful and switched us to a different room.

There's not much near the hotel, but there are two good restaurants in the hotel. Very good gym! Pool area is OK, but a bit noisy due to a fan outlet one floor below the pool. Choose your sunbed with care, as some areas have less noise than others. The hotel really should fix this fan issue though, as you hear the fan in all rooms facing the pool, even on the top floor.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the pool area as there is a huge fan outlet which you will hear in your room, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    79
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
34
65
21
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful, secure, and with an excellent staff well trained in meeting the needs of the guests. I was traveling alone, first time in Nairobi, and had searched online for a hotel that represented Kenya beautifully and was well liked by its guests. This hotel is a gem, with service as personal as a boutique hotel, and all the amenities of a first class luxury hotel. I spent 3 days the first time, and one on the true turn to Nairobi. It was a special part of my memories of my trip.

The front desk even arranged a staff member to be a driver guide for me to tour the places I most wanted to see in Nairobi, and at a significantly reduced cost over my safari tour company.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room overlooking the National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed the Boma en route to and from the wildlife areas. Staff could not have been nicer or more eager to help -- though some training still needed (e.g., some staff poured wine without letting me taste it first). Facilities generally very good, including an EXCELLENT gym. A few minor maintenance glitches (e.g., air con not working on one room) were swiftly resolved. Restaurants pricey but high quality. Will be back!

Room Tip: If you don't care about the view, go for the slightly larger standard rooms on the side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

...those are the words I would use to describe our room at the Boma. My husband and were only at the Boma for about eight short hours (arrived about 6pm from the Masai Mara and checked out at about 2am for our international flight home). The hotel is very secure with a gated fence around the property, security at the property entrance, and security at the hotel entrance.

Note: There is a Barclays ATM near the property (it's actually located in the wall of the Barclays bank next door).

There are a few reasons for the 4 star rating. First, the reception staff seemed confused and unorganized. We had to ask three times if our transfer to the airport had been booked. Second, it took us 15 minutes to check out of the hotel at 2am (check out should take no more than a couple of minutes). Third, upon arriving in our room after checking in, we were inundated with phone calls and people knocking on our door, asking if we needed anything and if everything was OK - again, unorganized. As a guest, I don't want to be interrupted multiple times by multiple people asking the same question. Once is enough. In fact, if something is wrong, I'll let you know on my own accord.

That said, I'd rather have over-the-top service than bad service.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the stairs as they are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Boma is only 10mins drive from Jobo Kenyatta International, so if you need a super comfy bed for the night for an onward connection in the morning, this is perfect. I travel to Tanzania a lot to guide clients on safari and always fly into NBO with BA. This is cleaner, more comfortable, more luxurious, with more friendly and efficient staff than the Intercontinental and you're not paying idiotic rates of the Norfolk. My one night's stay in a huge room was c.£120. If you want something in town, try The Fairview.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Red Cross owned and managed, with their HQ next door, 100% of their profits are supposed to go to the NGO. Closed to the airport (20 min), totally new, nice property.
A serious outsider to all the Classic choices of Nairobi (Sarovas and other hotels of the 80's charging almost the same price). Free and stable wifi.
Very efficient staff, spacious and modern room, nice bathroom, very good breakfast buffet, nice swimming pool for relax, and lots of options for dinner at the restaurant.
Recommended for business travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have now stayed at the Boma thrice since September 2012 and tried to post a review back then but some how the posting was lost due to a computer glitch. The hotel has certainly impressed both in the quality of it services and staff. Having stayed at other top hotels in Nairobi (including Serena and Sarova Panafric) and several other cities in other countries,
I believe the Boma will now give them a good run for their money and should be proud of its place in the industry.

The hotel staff stand out not just because of being polite (you'd usually get that at this level of hotel) but because they are FRIENDLY, RESPONSIVE and PROACTIVE. That's one of the reasons this remains my first choice after 3 business visits in 5 months, each lasting at least a week.

Moreover, you just cant beat 15/20 minutes to the airport if you have ever been in a traffic jam coming out from town. The food's very good and you have options. You have a shopping mall close by so you don't miss the city centre one bit. You've got to give this one a try! Bravo Boma!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Victor,

Greetings from the Boma, Nairobi!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Boma for your last three visits to Nairobi. We are indeed proud of making you our regular guest with our product and services meeting your expectations.

We are also delighted that our friendly and professional staff have stood out to ensure that we offer world class service to yourself and all our other esteemed guests.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and look forward in hosting you on all your future visits to Nairobi.

Best regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.