We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why the BOMA is home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Why the BOMA is home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have now stayed at the Boma thrice since September 2012 and tried to post a review back then but some how the posting was lost due to a computer glitch. The hotel has certainly impressed both in the quality of it services and staff. Having stayed at other top hotels in Nairobi (including Serena and Sarova Panafric) and several other cities in other countries,
I believe the Boma will now give them a good run for their money and should be proud of its place in the industry.

The hotel staff stand out not just because of being polite (you'd usually get that at this level of hotel) but because they are FRIENDLY, RESPONSIVE and PROACTIVE. That's one of the reasons this remains my first choice after 3 business visits in 5 months, each lasting at least a week.

Moreover, you just cant beat 15/20 minutes to the airport if you have ever been in a traffic jam coming out from town. The food's very good and you have options. You have a shopping mall close by so you don't miss the city centre one bit. You've got to give this one a try! Bravo Boma!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Victor,

Greetings from the Boma, Nairobi!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Boma for your last three visits to Nairobi. We are indeed proud of making you our regular guest with our product and services meeting your expectations.

We are also delighted that our friendly and professional staff have stood out to ensure that we offer world class service to yourself and all our other esteemed guests.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and look forward in hosting you on all your future visits to Nairobi.

Best regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    90
    18
    9
    1
See reviews for
37
76
24
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had been to The Boma a few times before....for drinks mostly in the evening but that Sunday afternoon i decided why not bring my family over for lunch after church. We were seated at the restaurant right outside the basement parking. There we ordered chicken wings which were really nice! Unfortunately, that was it. The mixed grill we ordered was not the best, the chicken was dry as sawdust and not to mention...my orange juice had worms in it! Lost my appetite, totally. My parents were not amused and for the price we paid..it just wasn't worth it. Doubt I'll be coming back anytime soon. Otherwise, lovely ambiance and decor. Kindly improve on the quality of food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

B for the Food-portion sizes could improve, it's never nice to leave a hotel hungry and maybe a little more variety. The chef has tried a few daring recipes...my humble advice? if you can't do it well, don't do it at all (Stay away from the black pudding pork chop monstrosity) A PLUS PLUS for service.one tiny little complaint attracted the immediate attention of the manager who was incredibly professional and truly did bend over backwards to help. Boma sets the standards in service and that's why i'd go back, despite the so-so food. Keep it up

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had never heard about this hotel in Nairobi close to the JKIA airport.

I spent only one night there when my flight was canceled but believe me I wish I could have stayed longer.
The staff is amazing, the food is exceptional, the rooms makes you feel better than home.

The limited choice of TV channels push you discovering the nieghbouring park that you can see with binoculars from the upper terrace of the hotel.

Perfection.

Congrats

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Boma hotel is the place to be in so beautiful,i was there with my family for two weeks and we realy loved the place, services,food ,room,pool and gym all where just great the security and the car services was fantastic staffs where also so friendly,professional and nice people thums up to the Boma i miss the place.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a one month old hotel, beautiful all over, service, food, pool, free wi-fi, my room was a junior suite for the price of a single room, all the amenities you expect from a luxury hotel. Very close to the airport on Red Cross road. The shower is spectacular, good and firm beds, Food is great, buffet or at la carte is great. Breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner buffets cost around US$ 40 each with soda or water included and without tips. They have a nice terrace as well where you can have your meals. You will like it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good for what I heard from my 10 companions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Purely amazing! Great security, fantastic food (ate at both Tembo bistro and lobby cafe), very professional staff, fine service. Certainly a world class exemplarary +5 star hotel! Hotel car available within minutes of request. Handy location for airport.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Maanxt,

Greetings from the Boma Nairobi!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal at the Tembo Bistro and Atrium Cafe; and that our team served you with the utmost professionalism not forgetting to ensure your safety is secured.

We are happy that our transport service was availed to you on time and it was efficient. Our pride is in ensuring that all our guest's needs are availed on time and in a professional manner.

We welcome you back at the Boma for your future visits and we hope in making the Boma your second home while in Nairobi.


Kind Regards,


Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.