We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So amazing!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Boma hotel is the place to be in so beautiful,i was there with my family for two weeks and we realy loved the place, services,food ,room,pool and gym all where just great the security and the car services was fantastic staffs where also so friendly,professional and nice people thums up to the Boma i miss the place.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    81
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
34
68
21
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a one month old hotel, beautiful all over, service, food, pool, free wi-fi, my room was a junior suite for the price of a single room, all the amenities you expect from a luxury hotel. Very close to the airport on Red Cross road. The shower is spectacular, good and firm beds, Food is great, buffet or at la carte is great. Breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner buffets cost around US$ 40 each with soda or water included and without tips. They have a nice terrace as well where you can have your meals. You will like it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good for what I heard from my 10 companions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Purely amazing! Great security, fantastic food (ate at both Tembo bistro and lobby cafe), very professional staff, fine service. Certainly a world class exemplarary +5 star hotel! Hotel car available within minutes of request. Handy location for airport.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Maanxt,

Greetings from the Boma Nairobi!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal at the Tembo Bistro and Atrium Cafe; and that our team served you with the utmost professionalism not forgetting to ensure your safety is secured.

We are happy that our transport service was availed to you on time and it was efficient. Our pride is in ensuring that all our guest's needs are availed on time and in a professional manner.

We welcome you back at the Boma for your future visits and we hope in making the Boma your second home while in Nairobi.


Kind Regards,


Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here overnight while in transit after finishing and overland trip through East Africa. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. This was in stark contrast to the hotel where our tour ended and for nearly the same price the Boma offered luxury, style and comfort. The perfect place to join civilization again after 3 weeks in a tent! The rooms are beautifully decorated and very modern. The hotel itself is spacious with the same modern decor and the buffet breakfast is delicious with fresh fruit, pastries, cereals and hot dishes. It is a little removed from the city centre, but, the proximity to the airport lets you avoid Nairobi's notable traffic on your way home. Overall, this was an absolutely wonderful hotel and I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have travelled 25+ years in Africa and I have stayed in most hotels in 39 African countries over the years. Staying at The Boma Nairobi hotel in Nairobi, was definitely a top three experience. I have never before come across a more welcoming and friendly hotel staff! The room and food was excellent and combined with the staff, the stay, however brief, was memorable. I will definitely return to this hotel next time I am in Nairobi and I highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Added value if you upgrade from superior rooms to deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Oestergaard,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your valuable time to share your experience with the rest of the world.

First and foremost, we are happy that our services including our rooms, food and welcoming friendly staff exceeded your expectations. We feel honored following your rating us at top three of all the hotels you have visited in not only Kenya but Africa. Wow, we are honored.

We welcome you back at the Boma Nairobi for all your future visits and hopefully they will not be as brief as your previous visit so that you can savor meals from our Tembo Bistro, enjoy our solar heated swimming pool and state of the art gymnasium which has a beautiful view of the Nairobi National Park.


Kind Regards,


Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000| (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Boma for about four days and I simply loved it there. The staff (as I also found Kenyans overall), were of the nicest people I have ever met. The room was clean and the food was great!!!
I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone that travels to Nairobi.
Thank you Boma staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel for Nairobi. Very friendly staff. Nice rooms except if you switch of the light at night you can not charge any laptop, iPad .... clean and nice bathroom. If your are a tourist in Nairobi this is one off the place where you can relax, but if you are on business than to go to the city center you face a traffic of 2hr.to enter in the morning and the same to come out in the evening. This hotel has a great future!
Staid their from 28/01 until 02/02/2013

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Boma Nairobi!!!

Thank you for making the Boma Nairobi your preferred hotel during your recent visit to Nairobi. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; just to mention the clean, spacious rooms and our friendly professional staff.

We also thank you for the positive feedback which will help us in improving our product. Our hotel is strategically located in between 2 airports, i.e. The Jomo Kenyatta International Airport and Wilson Airport therefore very ideal for tourists who wish to visit the Amboseli National Park, Maasai Mara Game reserve and many other National parks being served by the two airports.

For the business travelers, besides the proximity to the two airports, we are also located near the Industrial area and Upper hill which is an upcoming commercial hub of Nairobi.

Thank you Mr. P.T for the encouraging comments and for sure, we have a great future ahead.

Looking forward to making The Boma, your preferred hotel while in Nairobi.


Kind Regards,


Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.