We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here overnight while in transit after finishing and overland trip through East Africa. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. This was in stark contrast to the hotel where our tour ended and for nearly the same price the Boma offered luxury, style and comfort. The perfect place to join civilization again after 3 weeks in a tent! The rooms are beautifully decorated and very modern. The hotel itself is spacious with the same modern decor and the buffet breakfast is delicious with fresh fruit, pastries, cereals and hot dishes. It is a little removed from the city centre, but, the proximity to the airport lets you avoid Nairobi's notable traffic on your way home. Overall, this was an absolutely wonderful hotel and I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    74
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
61
18
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have travelled 25+ years in Africa and I have stayed in most hotels in 39 African countries over the years. Staying at The Boma Nairobi hotel in Nairobi, was definitely a top three experience. I have never before come across a more welcoming and friendly hotel staff! The room and food was excellent and combined with the staff, the stay, however brief, was memorable. I will definitely return to this hotel next time I am in Nairobi and I highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Added value if you upgrade from superior rooms to deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Oestergaard,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your valuable time to share your experience with the rest of the world.

First and foremost, we are happy that our services including our rooms, food and welcoming friendly staff exceeded your expectations. We feel honored following your rating us at top three of all the hotels you have visited in not only Kenya but Africa. Wow, we are honored.

We welcome you back at the Boma Nairobi for all your future visits and hopefully they will not be as brief as your previous visit so that you can savor meals from our Tembo Bistro, enjoy our solar heated swimming pool and state of the art gymnasium which has a beautiful view of the Nairobi National Park.


Kind Regards,


Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000| (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Boma for about four days and I simply loved it there. The staff (as I also found Kenyans overall), were of the nicest people I have ever met. The room was clean and the food was great!!!
I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone that travels to Nairobi.
Thank you Boma staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel for Nairobi. Very friendly staff. Nice rooms except if you switch of the light at night you can not charge any laptop, iPad .... clean and nice bathroom. If your are a tourist in Nairobi this is one off the place where you can relax, but if you are on business than to go to the city center you face a traffic of 2hr.to enter in the morning and the same to come out in the evening. This hotel has a great future!
Staid their from 28/01 until 02/02/2013

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Boma Nairobi!!!

Thank you for making the Boma Nairobi your preferred hotel during your recent visit to Nairobi. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; just to mention the clean, spacious rooms and our friendly professional staff.

We also thank you for the positive feedback which will help us in improving our product. Our hotel is strategically located in between 2 airports, i.e. The Jomo Kenyatta International Airport and Wilson Airport therefore very ideal for tourists who wish to visit the Amboseli National Park, Maasai Mara Game reserve and many other National parks being served by the two airports.

For the business travelers, besides the proximity to the two airports, we are also located near the Industrial area and Upper hill which is an upcoming commercial hub of Nairobi.

Thank you Mr. P.T for the encouraging comments and for sure, we have a great future ahead.

Looking forward to making The Boma, your preferred hotel while in Nairobi.


Kind Regards,


Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing ambience, very welcoming staff from the security men to parking attendants make you feel at home. We dined at the Johari restaurant and dinner was buffet style. Food was excellent, soo yummy and not like typical Kenyan hotels who use too much spice, leaving a taste in your mouth...just perfect! My boyfriend had barracuda fish and he said that was the best fish he had in a long time save for the little bones on it.

Our waiter Alfred was very polite and prompt in his service...excellent server! Deserts they was a lot of creative options and we was not stuck with fruits only! The only downside was guests present that day were a bit rowdy...I think they had a conference there of like 3 groups so they were very loud and pushy on food queues.

Everything was so perfect like it was rehearsed. Makes you want to squeal in delight! Kudos to the team! Will definitely go back check out other restaurants there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Mrembo,

Greetings from The Boma Nairobi!!!

Thank you for sharing your excellent dinner experience at our Johari Restaurant. Your experience expresses an overall satisfaction of how the reception was from the main gate to the service staff, Alfred which is very encouraging to all of us. Not forgetting, Kudos! to the Chef for the mouth watering Baracuda fish, done to your boyfriends satisfaction.

Thanks for sharing the downside of it with the groups we had who were loud which we are looking for a lasting solution to.

We look forward to host you again to sample our Tembo Bistro and even spend a weekend in our breath taking Superior rooms with a great view of the Nairobi National Park.


Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Boma Hotel is very nice, rooms are very big, bath rooms are good, staff are very kind. It is a very nice place to stay when you are in Nairobi. The Hotel has a swimming pool, and nice restaurant. Internet is available and is free. The room price is also affordable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Pascal,

Thank you for sharing your comments for your short stay at the Boma, Nairobi.

We are grateful that our staff and services met your expectations.

At the Boma, we endeavor to satisfy our guests and provide all that they require while away from home like a Solar heated swimming pool and either complimentary Wireless or cabled internet.

Thank you once again for staying with us and looking forward to hosting you in your future visits to Nairobi.

Kind regards,



Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000 | (: (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I actually did not stay here...our kids did (actually not really kids..they are in their mid 20's). We relocated to Africa and decided that after 5 years, to fly the kids over to have an "African Christmas." This was the first time the kids have been out of the States, and they were a little nervous making the 40 hour trip by themselves. Everything went smoothly until they missed their connection in Nairobi. They were tired, scared, and did not know what do do since the delay was 38 hours. They had no cell phone (the CDMA network of Verizon does not work in Africa), so after 3 hours of them paying random people in the airport for the brief use of their phone to call me in Zimbabwe, I realized they would not get anywhere with Kenyan Airlines. I called the Boma Hotel and asked them to help us with the situation. They sent a personal car to the airport with a sign for the kids, picked them up, and half the staff welcomed them when they got to the hotel. They said they felt like royalty. They got them settled into their room, and then checked with them a few minuted later to make sure their Internet was working (I asked for this so I could talk with them over e-mail to everything sorted). EVERY step of the way, the management notified me about what was going on...the driver found the kids, they are on the way to the hotel, they are now here, they are checked in, etc (this really helped since my wife was nervous about the situation). Over the next day, they arranged for a private city tour and kept them busy exploring the city and taking advantage of their unexpected time in Kenya.

In the words of the kids (take it with a grain of salt since their travel experience is limited only to the US)....it was the nicest hotel they have ever stayed in, with the best service they have ever experienced.

From our perspective, they took excellent care of the kids and really put us at ease while they were stuck for a day and a half. Their communication was excellent, they assistance was greatly appreciated, and their stay at the Boma enhanced their trip...rather than talking away from it. We can not thank them enough. The staff truly do understand customer service and attention to details.

To make things ever better, the hotel is owned by the Kenyan Red Cross and all proceeds go to support local efforts in Nairobi...a hotel that helps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Boma, Nairobi!!!

We are happy to have been of service to you and your family especially at this time that you really needed it. Our team is committed to ensure that all our guests feel at home always. Your comments are very encouraging and i will definitely share with the entire team who made a difference of the situation all the way.

We look forward to hosting your entire family at the Boma where hospitality is at its best with all profits of our establishment funding the humanitarian activities of the Kenya Red Cross Society.



Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.