We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“37 Nations but my first ever trip advisor review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 93 hotels in Nairobi
Mombasa, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“37 Nations but my first ever trip advisor review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

In Nairobi to close and agreeement with a world renowned billion dollar group i did not expect this to become the time I would be amazed by an Hotel, but then from entering into the Boma Hotel and personally beeing met by a staff of 5 people, I suspected that this hotel might have the potential to overdo the best Hotels in the world. Nancy the manager on duty was able to brlliantly immediately solve the specific needs and questions we had, no hassel or need for discussion or long explanations. I am writing this from another hotel that is first on the trip advisor and like to check other peoples comments. I was a bit curious about some of the old comments, but after having stayed there we have found that it is run by a winning team that just probably needed some more training, before they for sure in the verry close future will win the world championship in service and total hotel experience. Jacqulin helped us sort out our challenges in the business center and Guatamo gave us a personalised tour on the facilities including areas of our specific field of buisness. The facilities are brand new and the perfect mix of modern and the elegant and stylish African blend. We where able to stay just one night because we where flown by our potential partners to see the Kenyan potential.When ever coming to Nairobi in the future, I would then love to bring collegues, friends and family to give them a taste. When it comes to the so called distance from town we did not think of it, but might be we did not trie to travel in the worst rush hour. I also had the honor to meet in person Mr Kibwana that answers and comments other guests feedback, well able, young and serious manager, probably coming out of the best managment institutions. Keep it up Boma and show the rest of the world what 5 star Hotels could become.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Torkel,

Greetings from The Boma, Nairobi!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your business trip to Nairobi and for the very candid feedback on Trip advisor.

We are glad that our product and service were to your expectations. I'm happy to see that our team was always there to offer assistance whenever needed from the Front desk, the Business Centre and the Management too.

We wish you all the best in your business endeavors and looking forward to become your permanent residence on all your visits to Nairobi.


Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 /604528 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    56
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
50
15
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I and my wife spent two nights of our christmas holiday vaccation at the Boma Hotel,Nairobi.

We realy enjoyed our stay in the luxrious spacious rooms that provided the much needed comfort.
The hotels warm reception and ambience copuled by the quite neighbourhood neighbouring the Nairobi National park provided an out of town atmosphere.

Some of the places you need to check out while at the Boma is their swimming pool and fitness centre.
The food is good at an affordable rate and i cant wait to pay my next visit.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms overlooking the swimming pool provide an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Peter,

Greetings from the Boma, Nairobi!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Boma during the Christmas season. It was our first Christmas and we were honored to have you spend with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our product and services met your expectations especially the food, swimming pool, spacious and luxurious guest rooms, the fitness centre and the serene environment overlooking the Nairobi National Park.

Thank you once again and we also can't wait to host you again at the Boma.


Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 /604528 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

During our 4-week safari we used this hotel as our base and returned a number of times. It is on the outskirts of Nairobi so will not suit travellers wanting to explore the city, but we needed to get backwards and forwards from Wilson and JKIA so was perfectly situated. From the uniforms of the staff to the bedroom furnishings, the presentation throughout is impeccable. Smiling, articulate staff are eager to please. How impressed we were on our 2nd visit that it had been noted we liked fresh milk on our room tea tray! If I have a criticism it is only a small one - the pool area (which it has to be said is not elegant) when viewed from rooms on higher floors often was untidy. If the staff looking after it could see what guests see maybe they would rectify this. Yes there going to be teething-troubles but the team we encountered is more than up to the challenge.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Nairobi Game Park are noisy from plant equipment located below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Fiona,

Happy New Year!!!

Thank you for choosing the Boma Nairobi as your base during your Safari in Kenya.

We are glad to have hosted you and thank you for your valuable feedback and encouraging words shared in this forum. We are delighted that our product and services met your expectations.

I am very glad to hear that you were satisfied with the service our staff offered you. They will be glad to know that you were satisfied during your various stays.

We have also noted your comments on the state of our swimming pool. It had been out of order for approximately one month. Its now operational from 24th December 2012.

We look forward to hosting you at the Boma Nairobi on your next visit.


Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 / (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The ambience,architectural designs and interiors are amazing.The restaurant services are great with waiters ready to listen and serve !The sitting spaces and lounges are all spacious and very comfortable. Swimming pool though would really have been bigger for a 5 star rated hotel.

Room Tip: Western wing has a great view of the city under the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Ngugy,

Greetings from the Boma Nairobi, 'Hospitality with a Conscience'

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your recent stay at The Boma Nairobi.

I am delighted that our product and service met and surpassed your expectations especially our spacious and comfortable rooms, lounges finely finished with amazing interiors. I am glad that our restaurant team was attentive and helpful.

I have also noted your remarks on the size of our solar heated swimming pool located on the second floor which I have shared with our Management team.

Your recommendation of the Boma Nairobi as your hotel of choice is indeed appreciated and I assure you of our continued promise to make your subsequent stays with us memorable.


Happy Holidays!!!


Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

From the very first encounter with the majestic appearance of The Boma Hotel, to the time you check out, the services are amazing. The staff are at all time ready to answer to your call and most interesting a smile back to the customer. Even with the travel stress once at the Boma one receives relief. The rooms are great with enough space to work and the meals are yummy and yes i loved my breakfast at Boma.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Lusimbo,

Greetings from the Boma, Nairobi!!!

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel in regards to your recent stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so.

I am very glad to hear that you were satisfied with the service our staff offered you, our yummy king’s breakfast and the spacious rooms. Your words of encouragement go a long in our quest to satisfy our guests with our product accompanied with the efficient service.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.

Happy Holidays!!!


Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 /604528 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
567 helpful votes 567 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I desperately wanted to give this hotel a raving review. First, this is the first hotel with a “conscience” we have ever stayed in, as all profits fund the Kenya Red Cross Society's Humanitarian activities, and secondly, the Trip Advisor reviews have been very positive, so I was very much looking forward to our visit. However, in my opinion, there is much room for improvement.

This hotel had a “soft opening” on October 1, 2012, but has not yet had its “official” grand-opening. I booked through Expedia.com, with a rate of $225 per night for two, breakfast, and taxes) for a superior room. With a self-rating of 5-stars, I expected perfection or nearly.

We stayed at the Boma on three different nights in December 2012.

First, I would like to point out the Boma’s good points:

~ Architecturally, the Boma is an attractive hotel. I think the “boma” or rounded look gives it a unique perspective.

~ The public spaces are wide open. Light and air are plentiful. The flower arrangements throughout are very cheerful. The art work is tasteful and beautiful.

~ The rooms are spacious, well-thought out, and comfortable. The mattresses are comfortable, as are the pillows. The bed sheets could be of finer cotton (sheets are rough for a 5-star hotel), but they are immaculate and well-ironed.

~ The bathroom is modern and comfortable, with a rain shower overhead fixture, which honestly, it’s too big for the size of the shower stall.

~ The staff at the Reception, doormen, bellmen, etc. is very friendly.

~ The hotel is located not too far from the International Airport, which is a big plus.

~ The Johari restaurant is truly beautiful. We ate breakfast one day, and lunch on another day. The staff is extremely attentive and responsive. The Johari's food was very good, as well as presentation.

~ The gym is very nice! State-of-the art equipment.

~ We arranged for three Airport pick-ups and drop offs. Each time, the chauffeur was extremely friendly. On arrivals, the chauffeur was always outside with a name sign. On our last night, we also arranged for a taxi to take us shopping, and requested for the driver to wait for us. This was also a good experience.

~ The Business Center is user-friendly, and there is an attendant present. Internet use is free.

~ Free Wi-Fi in the rooms and public areas.

Now, sadly, here are some negative points.

* The hotel is already showing signs of wear. Each time we left we would point out things that needed to be repaired.

* A couple of examples: the bathroom sink was missing a stopper. Two of the lights were out, one being on the large bathroom mirror (making the bathroom darker than usual), one light out in the bedroom. Desks are showing wear and tear with a lot of scratches and dents. Some of repair items we pointed out should have been not missed by spot checks by Housekeeping (light out of order should be obvious).

* A/C not working properly: during our last stay, we noticed the room was unusually warm, so we reported it. Two techs showed up, but said the room had not been used, and to give the A/C unit the chance to get going. After 1.5 hours it was not cooling off, but we had to go out. As we were leaving the hotel, we requested to have it checked again. We don’t know if Maintenance came back to the room to check it out, but when we returned to the room around 10:00 pm, the room was still a bit warm (we had the thermostat set at 16◦C which should have been very cold). Even though the night was cool, we could not open the windows because there was a party below with very loud music. Needless to say, we had a very poor’s night sleep.

* Attention to detail. For example, during our last stay, the next morning we had to leave the hotel at 3:30 am. Upon check-in, the day before, we requested a small breakfast box for each person. As usual, the Receptionist, full of sweetness reassured us that indeed we would have waiting for us ( I saw her write it down on a notepad). The next day, there were no breakfast boxes when we checked out. We were offered to have them made, but we were already running late at 3:45 am, and so we declined.

* The second restaurant below, the Tembo Bistro is a more casual spot. The décor is smart and modern. We had a breakfast and a dinner, on different dates. The service here is not as attentive or detailed as the Johari restaurant upstairs. The staff is probably not as well trained as upstairs, and attention to detail is not their forté. The food quality is also not the same. One morning, the breakfast was not available in the Johari Restaurant and we were directed to the Tembo Bistro. We never got the toast we requested, even after asking for it to two different waiters, at different time intervals.

The presentation/content/choices of breakfast foods were not very palatable. I understand a Kenyan restaurant has to cater to the local taste, but for example, samosas, spicy curried vegetables is not something a Westeners enjoys for breakfast; there should be items pleasing to both groups. The croissants should be crispy on the outside, never soft and chewy.

Since the Johari restaurant was closed for a private function, the same quality and service offered upstairs should be present at the Tembo, no excuses. The supervisor at the Tembo made up excuses saying they were “doing the best they could”…

* Hotel transportation: twice (two different dates) we had to remind the chauffer to have the car’s air conditioner serviced, or at least report it to the proper group. Even though the climate is cool in Nairobi, the city is not one where one drives around with windows down, especially in the hotel’s neighborhood.

* The hotel’s location (neighborhood): I apologize for saying this, but the general surrounding neighborhood doesn’t feel too safe, especially at night. The Boma, does however, provide excellent security, starting at the front gate.

* Currently, the pool is non-functional. It was working during our first visit, but it has since been closed and drained due to some structural repairs.

* The Spa is still non-functional. We were taken to the Boma Inn, to use the sauna, but of course, the facility is not as nice as the Boma Hotel.

Summary

On two different occasions we had the opportunity to share our comments and concerns. One with the Tembo Bistro supervisor, and he expressed gratitude for our honesty. Another lady, her desk being in the lobby, also expressed concern when we discussed our experiences.

Unfortunately, during our last stay, the issue with the A/C, breakfast boxes, etc., I had to leave my comments on the survey, as it was too early in the morning to tell anyone.

This hotel is truly beautiful, but with a self-rating of 5-stars, the Boma Nairobi really needs to live up to that rating. Also, a 5-star hotel should never rely on guests to point out maintenance issues, etc.; the hotel's Maintenance team needs to pay close attention in this area. Daily room assessment by Housekeeping should eliminate the need to rely on guests’ feedback regarding repair issues.

The wait-staff could use a bit more training, paying attention to details.

As we return to Nairobi next March, I would like to give the Boma Nairobi one more chance. I hope by the, the Boma will be fully functional and living up to the 5-star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the garden/restaurant areas, just in case there is a party and the music is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Mrs Fugate,

Greetings from The Boma, Nairobi!!!

Thank you for choosing the Boma Nairobi as your hotel during your recent visits to Nairobi and taking time to give us your honest, detailed feedback on our product and services.

Kindly accept our sincere apologizes for not meeting up to your expectations at the Boma, Nairobi. While it is our principal focus to immediately address and resolve issues that our guests face, it is clear that we have not risen up to your expectations in this instance.

I have therefore taken up the specific matters with our entire management team and necessary corrective measures are being taken up.

Mrs Fugate, our guests are of extreme importance to us and we greatly value your feedback which is very enlightening. I request you to kindly give us another opportunity to serve you in the future so that we can restore your faith in The Boma, Nairobi.


Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000 /604528 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a great place to stay in Nairobi. My five night experience was something to remember from all aspects. I cannot rate it any higher. All the staff were absolutely amazing, from the senior managers to the cleaners. One young waitress stands out, and that is Daisy. I will stay there again on my next trip to Nairobi.

Room Tip: My room 2220, was very convenient for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Terry,

Greetings from The Boma, Nairobi!!!

Thank you for choosing The Boma Nairobi as your hotel during your recent visit to Nairobi. I am glad that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations during your stay with us.

I appreciate your positive comments on the colleagues, senior management and especially our waiting staff, Daisy who ensured that you were offered efficient service.

Your recommendation of the Boma Nairobi as your hotel of choice is indeed appreciated and I assure you of our continued promise to make your subsequent stays with us memorable.

Have a Merry Christmas and blessed new year!!!

Kind regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100

(office) +254 20 3904000 /604528 | (cell) +254 728 606 476/8/719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list