We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent new hotel in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Cupertino, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent new hotel in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

this was my 3rd trip to Nairobi in last 1 year. Boma is new on Mobassa road (very convenient for airtel/ibm meetings and also close to airport).

room & bathroom are very modern with all amenities one can think of. Staff was very helpful, accommodating and attentive (specially Angelina).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    103
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
46
90
27
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel totoally exceed expectations.
Seemless hotel pickup.
Friendly and attentive staff in ALL parts of the hotel - could not do enough and at all stages of a very short stay staff wanted to ensure we were looked after.
Amazing and very spacious room.
We were only in Nairobi for a day prior to flying onto Mombasa. The hotel is very convenient for this as close ti the airport but not under the flight path.
We hired one of the hotel cars and a driver for the afternoon to take us to National Park -. Patick wanted to to make sure we got the most of the afternoon and also took us to other key sites - and was very friendly and helpful for a surprisingly small fee.
I have not rated breakfast as we missed it due to sleeping too well:)
The service did not stop after checkout...a few days after leaving, the hotel e-mailed to check that the stay was ok.
I would stay here again without hesittation. Many thanks The Boma for a wonderful stay - all aspects were perfect!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nairobi generally has expensive hotels. The Boma is certainly not the cheapest, but they do have a special on right now, and they are, I think, below the median price for top level Nairobi hotels. I stayed here for overnight transit as it is relatively close to the International airport. I have previously stayed at the Panari, but they are much more expensive and the service and quality if not exactly great.

Upon arrival at the Boma you are greeted with a hot towel and juice. The rooms are explained to you with care; the dinner was amazing. And the rooms are very nice; much nicer than what I was expecting.

I highly recommend the Boma.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Yogzbear,

Greetings from the Boma Nairobi, 'Hospitality with a Conscience'

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Boma for your recent visit to Nairobi and also for taking your valuable time to share your experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodation.

I am glad that our team gave you a warm welcome and oriented you well of all the room amenities. We are happy that our product and service surpassed your expectations and we look forward to hosting you on your future visits to Nairobi.


Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 /604528 | (cell) +254 719 050 000 Ê: (fax) +254 20 604 520
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The staff here at the Boma were amazingly friendly and accommodating. On arrival, we were greeted with hot towels and fresh passion juice! Then, throughout the trip the manager frequently checked in with me to see how I was enjoying the stay. I was also with a large group of about 15, and they handled our motley crew exceptionally. Really, the staff/management were just amazing. As for the rooms, they were very nice. Nothing jaw-dropping amazing, but spacious, modern, and comfortable. Room wise, it would compare with a Hyatt. The restaurant there is good. Again nothing amazing, but still tasty! Overall, its definitely a place you have to go to!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Alex,

Greetings from The Boma Nairobi.

Thank you for choosing The Boma Nairobi as your hotel during your recent visit to Nairobi. I am glad that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations during your stay with us.

I appreciate your comment on the colleagues, service upon your arrival, your entire groups' handling as well as our rooms facilities and quality of food.

Your recommendation of the Boma Nairobi as your hotel of choice is indeed appreciated and I assure you of our continued promise to make your subsequent stays with us memorable.


Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The management of this hotel were among the most accommodating and friendly I have seen anywhere. My wife and I are luxury hotel aficionados and loved The Boma. It was surprisingly luxurious and contemporary. Service! Food! Ambiance! Get it all !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Fred,

Greetings from The Boma Nairobi.

Thank you for choosing The Boma Nairobi as your hotel during your recent visit to Nairobi. I am glad that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations during your stay with us.

I appreciate your comment on the hotel Management as well as the Service, Food and ambiance.

Your recommendation of the Boma Nairobi as your hotel of choice is indeed appreciated and I assure you of our continued promise to make your subsequent stays with us memorable.


Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotels | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Amazing attention to detail,food fantastic,service the best and how friendly can you get from the parking attendent to the chef.Great place. The president of Kenya opens this hotel min a few weeks(if he can get a booking)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel has everything you can think of for business purposes. You don't need to bring any converters, you can plug in anything to these outlets.
In terms of American service they have learned well. I've stayed in five star hotels that have worse service.
The place is immaculate with many luxuries, among them the pool. It overlooks one of the national parks. But not to worry, there were no lions in our view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the lovely compliments you have shared. Its very encouraging for us to know that our product and service meets our guest's expectations.

We have tried to provide all amenities necessary for our business travelers not forgetting the comfort that goes with it. For our leisure guests, the hotel is located within 7 minutes drive to the Wilson airport thus providing an easy access to guests flying to the Kenyan national parks and reserves namely; Maasai Mara, Amboseli, Samburu and Tsavo.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we'll endeavor to make all our guests' stay at the Boma memorable.

Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotel | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 /604528 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.