We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner only” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dinner only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Amazing attention to detail,food fantastic,service the best and how friendly can you get from the parking attendent to the chef.Great place. The president of Kenya opens this hotel min a few weeks(if he can get a booking)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    90
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
40
80
24
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel has everything you can think of for business purposes. You don't need to bring any converters, you can plug in anything to these outlets.
In terms of American service they have learned well. I've stayed in five star hotels that have worse service.
The place is immaculate with many luxuries, among them the pool. It overlooks one of the national parks. But not to worry, there were no lions in our view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the lovely compliments you have shared. Its very encouraging for us to know that our product and service meets our guest's expectations.

We have tried to provide all amenities necessary for our business travelers not forgetting the comfort that goes with it. For our leisure guests, the hotel is located within 7 minutes drive to the Wilson airport thus providing an easy access to guests flying to the Kenyan national parks and reserves namely; Maasai Mara, Amboseli, Samburu and Tsavo.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we'll endeavor to make all our guests' stay at the Boma memorable.

Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotel | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 /604528 | (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scherpenheuvel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at The Boma during a short business trip to Nairobi. In general, I had a very good experience: nice, clean and spatious room, good services, nice (and quiet) swimming pool, very good breakfast buffet. I also enjoyed the restaurant near the entrance. The staff was very friendly, and that's maybe a negative point: staff was a little bit 'too' friendly, asking severall time a day if I was enjoying my stay etc. Also the charge for a late check-out was quite high. But in general, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali K, Front Office Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Boma, Nairobi, 'Hospitality with a Conscious'

First and foremost, i wish to thank you for choosing the Boma for your recent visit to Nairobi. We are happy that our product and services met your expectations and we will endeavor to ensure that we continue at the same pace.

We have also noted your comments on the friendliness of the staff and the day room charges which we are addressing fully.

Thank you once again for making the Boma your recommended hotel and looking forward to hosting you in your next visit to Nairobi.



Kind Regards,

Ali Kibwana | Rooms Division Manager | The Boma Hotel | P.O. Box 26601-00100


(office) +254 20 3904000 (cell) +254 719 050 000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a new hotel, opened in October 2012'ish. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful, they had good local knowledge and were always able to point me in the right direction. The rooms are excellent, the best rooms I have stopped in whilst here in Nairobi. Comfortable beds, plenty of room and and very well laid out with tea/cooffe making facilities, a fridge and free wifi throughout. The hotel suffered many power outages but they have backup generators which kick in very quickly and so do not unduly affect you.
It is fairly close to the airport, about 20 minutes and they offer collection to and from the airport (at a price $20 per person).
I stayed in this hotel for 10 nights and have been thoroughly impressed with its cleanliness and friendliness and will not hesitate to stay here again in the future and recommend it to others that plan to come to Nairobi. It is by far the best hotel in Nairobi that I have stayed in so far (have stayed in 4 others until now).
Well done and keep up the outstanding start that you have done so far.

Room Tip: Looked in a few of them whilst having a nose around and they all seem comparable so I wouldn't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Boma Nairobi is still in the 'soft opening' stage, meaning that not all of their facilities are open yet. But with a few teething issues to resolve such as in room information (extension directory, television directory, etc.) the hotel already provides a great standard of service with well designed, comfortable rooms and friendly, efficient service.

I had their lunch buffet which offered a nice selection of very fresh food as well as some spectacular desserts that looked like something from "The Great British Bake Off". I later learned that their executive chef is from Scotland.

The hotel is managed by Mugo Maringa, A native Kenyan veteran with many years experience, he was on hand to meet guests and ensure people were enjoying their stay.

The hotel is owned by the Red Cross as an investment to generate jobs and funds to reinvest in helping Kenyans. Working on this non-profit concept, it means that it is not just a great place to stay, but a great place to help give back to the people of Kenya that are in need.

Room Tip: I had a deluxe room which was a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at the Boma for 1 night, 25th September 2012.
The hotel seems to have just opened, in fact some promotional video was being recorded.
The staff were extremely cordial, service excellent in all respects.
At the price I paid, the hotel is incomparable with anything Nairobi has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at The Boma from Oct. 9 - 28, 2012 and had a wonderful time. Our group was there on business with a team of 12 and everyone was well catered for and comfortable. Staff were able to react quickly and efficiently to requests including special dietary considerations and laundry late at night. All rooms were clean, well furnished and well equipped. After just two days all the staff new my name and greeted me warmly whenever we met. Gym and spa facilities next door are sufficient and provide value. We also used the conference facilities next door and they were very satisfactory. Definitely will return!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the northeast side of the hotel for both views and sunlight consideratio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.