We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boma Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Boma Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at the Boma for 1 night, 25th September 2012.
The hotel seems to have just opened, in fact some promotional video was being recorded.
The staff were extremely cordial, service excellent in all respects.
At the price I paid, the hotel is incomparable with anything Nairobi has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    90
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
39
80
24
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at The Boma from Oct. 9 - 28, 2012 and had a wonderful time. Our group was there on business with a team of 12 and everyone was well catered for and comfortable. Staff were able to react quickly and efficiently to requests including special dietary considerations and laundry late at night. All rooms were clean, well furnished and well equipped. After just two days all the staff new my name and greeted me warmly whenever we met. Gym and spa facilities next door are sufficient and provide value. We also used the conference facilities next door and they were very satisfactory. Definitely will return!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the northeast side of the hotel for both views and sunlight consideratio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had the privilege of staying at The Boma Nairobi during the week of October 15 and had a great experience. From my first contact with the elegantly dressed bellmen to my departure on October 20 every single contact with the staff contributed to a memorable experience. My room was large, beautifully furnished, clean and well equipped with all the amenities to facilitate a great business trip.

Excellent food and service in the Johari Restaurant. consistent quality, consistently. Thanks to Restaurant Manager George and his fine team of Christabel, Jared, and Alfred who provided impeccable service to our group. Mr. Thomas Malului, Food & Beverage Service Manager congratulations on the great job you are doing. Johari's hostesses Keziah and Saadia, always smiling, warm and gracious, you made us feel special everytime.

Thanks Thureya, Faith, Daisy & Hilda for your contribution to this memorable experience. Please continue to make excellence your minimum standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was a really thoughtfully created hotel which I much appreciated, having been to many conference hotels in Africa that are not done well or with thought for the business traveller.

My bedroom was roomy, had lots of power sockets in the right places and was well organised and designed. My one BIG niggle was that the bed was hard as nails and I woke each morning feeling bruised, stiff and sore enough to take pain killers through the day. If I had been there longer than two nights I would have demanded another room with a softer bed. I did ask staff about it and one staff member told me that it was because it had rained that I was so sore!

My other niggle was due to the staff: absolutely delightful and beautifully trained. The one thing that I didn't like is that they were VERY informal with me, from the guy who met me at the airport who called me by my Christian name, to the lobby staff and room maid doing likewise. This is NOT Kenyan, nor African at all and I don't like to be so informally addressed by anybody I haven't met before. Probably me being very stuffy, but I've been visiting, staying in and living in Kenya and elsewhere in East Africa for over 45 years and this is just not the culture here.

The food was wonderful, and consistently high quality, and the meeting rooms in the conference centre were excellent.

A very high class hotel, but the bed and the abnormally informal staff are my two niggles which would stop me from going there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Though we live and work in Nairobi, my wife and I decided to give ourselves a treat and stay at The Boma for Friday night. The stay was amazing. We both have been to hotels and restaurants both within and outside the country for similar treats but The Boma is surely in a class of its own.

I have to state that the food in The Boma is amazing and presented in such an incredible way that you feel like just gazing at the plate for fear of spoiling the layout. The buffet though was in the "meets expectation" category.

You will also realize that a lot of thoughts went into the design of the hotel both in the interior and exterior. However, I did see some slight design flows in some of the public bathrooms - I believe this can easily be rectified.

I think The Boma is the place that I would definitely want to go back to and especially for their food. An excellent hotel that I would recommend others to also come and experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A 12 day work assignment was made a whole lot better by staying at the Boma hotel. I have stayed in a few hotels in Nairobi and The Boma is excellent. The food is amazing, well presented and excellent quality. The staff are friendly and ready to assist. The gentleman at the concierge remembered our names during the course of our stay, which surprised us when he first addressed us. Raymond and Job were excellent and always smiling. The staff try hard, please give them more authority at the front desk. Will be back in 3 weeks, hopefully the stay will be just as good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Boma is Nairobi's newest Gem; a 5 Star hotel owned by the Red Cross; and with a decor and ambience of an international top ranking; Ideally located by the Airport on Mombassa road, the staff and very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is world class. A perfect stay after being in the out-back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.