We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee house good but staff need manners.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Java House Jomo Kenyatta Airport

Java House Jomo Kenyatta Airport
Gate 14 | Jomo Kenyatta Airport, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #129 of 301 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bristol U.K
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Coffee house good but staff need manners.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Coffee and snacks good but buying 3 T shirts was a nightmare. Poor stock level on sizes needed and rude staff serving. Ended up buying none as sizes not in stock. No apologies from staff. Would not advertise their T shirts ever if this is what is delivered in service from management.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    2
    16
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Crowded but good coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Only place within the whole airport (departure) that you can have coffee hence congested. You will be lucky to get a clean table.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A haven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Java house at the airport is really a haven. It's a great place to dine and have a great tasting coffee esp when your flight is delayed. I loved the relaxing ambience and I loved that they have a very extensive food and beverage menu. This is definitely the only place at the JK Nairobi airport that caters for travelers looking for proper food after the not-so-appetizing in-flight cuisine. Downside: When it's busy, you either have to work hard on getting the staff's attention or you need to ignore the feeling that they are trying to rush you too much so you may vacate the table quickly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great coffee, good service, need more 2-person tables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently spent a week in and around Nairobi and made several stops at the Java Coffee House restaurants around town - 4 in fact! Their chai malinde is fabulous, wrap sandwiches great, chocolate and carrot cake terrific. We loved everything we ate and drank there - including all the coffee and tea we brought home for friends and co-workers.

At the airport shop, they really need to bring in more 2-person tables. As we were enjoying a lunch and coffee before our flight, there were single persons at six different 4-person tables, and people waiting in queue in the hallway. This wasn't a very good use of what I'm guessing is high-rent property.

Otherwise, can't express just how much we enjoyed the Java House. Terrific!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,098 reviews 1,098 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
660 helpful votes 660 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant at the end of the corridor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Java House at the Jomo Kenyatta Airport is located at the very end of the corridor, near Gate 14 (International Terminal, I think?). They have separate channels for takeaway and dine-in guests, which ensures efficient service for everyone. The restaurant is comfortable, with a range of bar-stools, bench seats and standard tables and chair. The food and drink was great and the atmosphere is relaxed. The place is fully licensed with a nice range of alcohol. A great place to pass the time whilst waiting for your flight.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java House Jomo Kenyatta Airport also viewed

 

Been to Java House Jomo Kenyatta Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java House Jomo Kenyatta Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.