We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuskers...Baridi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exchange Bar

Exchange Bar
Corner of Kimathi Street and Kenyatta Avenue | 1st floor, Sarova Stanley Hotel, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254 20 2757000
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #25 of 301 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Description: History comes to life at The Exchange Bar, once the site of Nairobi's first Stock Exchange from 1954. In 1922, The Long Bar,the Stanley's precursor to The Exchange Bar, famously took delivery of the first ever order of Tusker beer from Kenya Breweries. The bar retains the feel of a traditional English Gentleman's club while exuding a casual elegance and warm atmosphere. A perfect place to enjoy a single malt whisky or sensational cocktails accompanied with a variety of bar snacks.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tuskers...Baridi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I learned that baridi is cold in Kiswahili, and that not everyone in the world drinks their beer cold...some drink it moto (hot-but really room temperature!) A very enjoyable business casual bar with old old world charm.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Canadafran4Kenya,

Thank you for taking the time to visit our Exchange Bar and review its services.
It is highly appreciated that you enjoyed the charm and character of the Bar, which indeed, has a legacy of its own.

We look forward to your next visit, cold Tuskers await your arrival.

Warm Regards,
Davi Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    8
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant Refuge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Reminiscent of Raffles Long Bar in Singapore to a degree. But good food and wine. Lots of locals here and expats and tourists. Some bar staff can be initially surly, but overall a good place for an informal meal. Dined here twice in preference to the Thai restaurant, and we were not game enough to go out for a meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear anecessaryevil,

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experiences at The Exchange Bar.

Your comments on the good wine and food are greatly received.
We are glad you enjoyed your meals and certainly look forward to welcoming you once again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best cocktails bar none (pun intended)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

One look at the stocked bottles (which were spotless and sparkling on the display shelves) and you know that this was a serious bar. The bartender was an elderly gentleman who had been with the hotel for more than 20 years, so he knew his cocktails - made me a delicious whiskey sour that I find myself still longing for.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Prehensile,

Thank you choosing to visit The Exchange Bar posting your positive review.

As a bar which is rich in tradition and character we set the standards high and aim to offer the best of services to all our guests, hence is a joy to note your cocktail experience was one of “Best” you have had.

We certainly look forward to serving you up a Whiskey Sour soon.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet place to read and have a beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Superb atmosphere, attentive not obtrusive staff. Great place to have a beer before or after dinner, read a book or just unwind

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear
Dear Mjc992,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Exchange Bar.
We are glad that you found the atmosphere superb and enjoyed the services provided by our team.

You are always welcome back for a drink.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old school atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

this bar has a lot of old school charm and history. It was once the sight of the first stock exchange in Kenya, hence the name Exchange Bar. These characteristics about the bar make it very appealing. But we arrived there we found that our waiter was not so welcoming and we wondered if we should leave, but we were won over by the charm of the place and deicided to stay and it is a good thing we did because our waiter eventually warmed up to us. So we had a great time there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Whatilikedaboutyou,

Thank you for taking the time to visit our Exchange Bar and review its services.
It is highly appreciated that you enjoyed the charm and character of the Bar, which indeed, has a legacy of its own.

Thank you for eventually choosing to stay at the Bar, and enjoying the services provided.
We hope to host you soon again,

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exchange Bar also viewed

 

Been to Exchange Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exchange Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.