We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place to read and have a beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exchange Bar

Exchange Bar
Corner of Kimathi Street and Kenyatta Avenue | 1st floor, Sarova Stanley Hotel, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254 20 2757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 362 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Drinks
Description: History comes to life at The Exchange Bar, once the site of Nairobi's first Stock Exchange from 1954. In 1922, The Long Bar,the Stanley's precursor to The Exchange Bar, famously took delivery of the first ever order of Tusker beer from Kenya Breweries. The bar retains the feel of a traditional English Gentleman's club while exuding a casual elegance and warm atmosphere. A perfect place to enjoy a single malt whisky or sensational cocktails accompanied with a variety of bar snacks.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quiet place to read and have a beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Superb atmosphere, attentive not obtrusive staff. Great place to have a beer before or after dinner, read a book or just unwind

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear
Dear Mjc992,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Exchange Bar.
We are glad that you found the atmosphere superb and enjoyed the services provided by our team.

You are always welcome back for a drink.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old school atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

this bar has a lot of old school charm and history. It was once the sight of the first stock exchange in Kenya, hence the name Exchange Bar. These characteristics about the bar make it very appealing. But we arrived there we found that our waiter was not so welcoming and we wondered if we should leave, but we were won over by the charm of the place and deicided to stay and it is a good thing we did because our waiter eventually warmed up to us. So we had a great time there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Whatilikedaboutyou,

Thank you for taking the time to visit our Exchange Bar and review its services.
It is highly appreciated that you enjoyed the charm and character of the Bar, which indeed, has a legacy of its own.

Thank you for eventually choosing to stay at the Bar, and enjoying the services provided.
We hope to host you soon again,

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great spot for a big meal and cold Tusker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Located on the first floor of the Stanley Hotel in Nairobi, this once served as the stock exchange for Kenya - so it's full of history. They have a good selection of drinks - and of course serve near-ice cold Tusker, and is a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi - a great place to relax the stresses of commuting (either by foot or vehicle). There are a lot of traditionally what we'd call "pub food", but with an elegant twist. Generously sized servings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Bvonm,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to visit the Exchange Bar and review its services.
We aim to ensure our Bars are always fully stocked with both contemporary and premium spirits, liquors and wines, hence, thank you for recognizing this.

It is a pleasure to note that you also enjoyed your meals at this bar which as you have pointed our is rich in tradition and character.

Please visit us soon again, we certainly look forward to hosting you.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Live like a colonial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stop for a cold Tusker in the Exchange Bar on the first floor of the Stanley Hotel. Whatever you do, don't ring the bell over the bar (it means you'll buy a round for the house).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Bar in the Stanley Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's on the first floor of the Stanley Hotel. Originally served as the stock exchange of Kenya, hence the name. More of a social club or hotel lobby atmosphere than a typical bar. There is a full menu of "snacks". I ordered the fish and chips and my wife the hamburger. Portions were enormous, but the price signalled that. If you are staying in the hotel and are bored with the Thorn Tree Cafe then it is a good place to come get some different food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Exchange Bar, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Moominoid,

Thank you choosing to dine at The Exchange Bar and posting your positive review.
Exchange Bar is rich in History and has a legacy of its own, we pride ourselves in offering superior beverages and high quality meals, hence, am glad you enjoyed your meal with us.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exchange Bar also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Exchange Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exchange Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.