We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now far too expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flame Tree Restaurant

Flame Tree Restaurant
Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
254-722-200-945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 318 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Now far too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have used this restaurant many times as a guest at Sarova Panafric hotel but it has gone downhill badly over recent times. The menu needed some additions to a menu that didnt change for years but they decided to change nearly everything and it has proved too much, as the standard has dropped.
The biggest disapointment is the new added service charge for food and also for beverages. It takes the final bill way beyond what it should be. It should be my choice if I pay a service charge(tip) NOT the restaurants. I was told that the tips before were divided amongst the staff but the service charge goes to the restaurant and not the staff. Shameful.
I will never dine here again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    12
    4
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The location of the restaurant is great in the centre of city surrounded by other hotels. The food was great specially the African. Lots of greenery and use of natural wood in the restaurant gives a feeling of having dinner at ancient European village..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I really liked the service i was offered by the waiters at the restaurant,i was with my dear wife and the service was really great,it was like we were in heaven because everything was taken care of, before we could ask for something, its the waiters who were already asking us in case we need such item in our minds.
Congrats!!!!! keep the spirit burning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend & I happened to be in the vicinity of this restaurant and decided to have a drink plus dinner! Big mistake!! The waiter who served us first was unprofessional, when we asked for the beverage menu he said he could just tell us what is available & he only brought after we insisted. The food took forever! I had ordered for a steak sandwich and I have never seen such a bad presentation, the steak was rare, the bread hard & stale and after the promise to replace the second one was worse than the first I ended up not eating. My friend ordered for chicken tikka it was too too and they didn't bother to ask if it should be mildly or heavily spiced! Do not bother eating here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else!

Bad food, too pricey an very slow service!

We had 4 different menu items and we all felt the same way; far too overpriced for what we got and none of it was really good either!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Tree Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Flame Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flame Tree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.