We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely place with fabulous hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southhood Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southhood Guest House
Balozi Lane 54, Nairobi 254, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Homely place with fabulous hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Gladys and Roy were truly fantastic and it was so easy to stay in this place. Strongly recommended for anyone who doesn't like the lonely and boring "hotel feel". Very close to the Airport (which is a big relief in the traffic situation of Kenya). Found it safe and secure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay and a great place to rest for anyone. The staff is VERY helpful and it's a wonderfully clean environment. They are very knowledgable and are quite skilled in helping people find their way around a new city. HIGHLY recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Southhood Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello Willmuzik,
We at the Southhood Guest Villas wish to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. we were very delighted to be your hosts during your visit in Nairobi- Kenya.
Thank you very much fo taking time to write a review. We are elated to know that indeed you were pleased by our hospitality.
We at the Southhood Guest Villas endevour to offer our guest an unparalleled touch of African yet modern experience. We delight in our guests delight.

Thank you very much and we look forward to offering you the best that we can offer always.

Thank you and God Bless you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The villa is very clean as Gladys is very welcoming and you can ask her anything ( Safari, Trips, Hangouts, Etc ) and for Sure she will help you. The Villa is located 5 min away Walking to the bus stop which is 10 min away from downtown, Also it is in a compound which is very secure and surrounded by other villas.
The Food is very clean and tastes like a piece of heaven as you will find all the Kenyan food and any other food you will order.
You will find hospitality and the Kenyan generosity in this guest house which mixes between Modern and Kenyan tribal houses.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Southhood Guest House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello ADabees

Thank you very much for your pleasant review, we are delighted.
We a glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Guest Villa, we always endevour to offer you exemplary service very effortlessly, so that you want to come back here next time you are in town.
Our theme of African yet modern hospitality has always been our baseline. Our Traditional African food, African style of service delivery laced with lots of respect and very kind Kenyan generosity while making our guests feel completely at home has had our guests want to stay longer. With Roy, you can be sure, you will have an exciting stay even next time you stay with us.

Again we thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to being your host the next time you are here in Nairobi.

Thank you very much.

Gladys & Roy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed twice at the Southhood. Gladys and Roy answered all our emails promptly, picked us up on time from the airport and welcomed us to their guesthouse. Gladys even organised a birthday cake for my husband. They really made us feel at home. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. The only disappointment we had was with a trip to the elephant orphanage the morning of our departure, as instead of charging the transfer fee we anticipated (around 30 USD), we were charged a day tour of around $200. Gladys later explained that they had hired the car for the day for us and so they passed on this charge, but it was a shock at the time. I would definitely stay here again but would advise travellers to get definitive prices on transport beforehand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Southhood Guest House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello Jen,

We trust you are doing great at this juncture.
Myself & Roy wish to thank you most sincerely for your recent stay with us.
We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a great pleasure to be at your service and we will do it again and again the next time you are in Nairobi.
We regret the disappointment with respect to the day tour and as we promised, this will not happen again.
As a matter of fact we would love to make it up to you any time.

Once again, thank you very much, we were honored to have you around.

All the best now.

Gladys & Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights before flying home to the UK as the location was perfect for access to the airport. We arrived late and were greeted warmly and offered drinks and snacks. The room was clean and comfortable and the shared living area homely. The hosts Gladys and Roy really make this place special, they can't do enough for you. We were accompanied on a walk round the area to show us where things were and in the evening Roy cooked us a traditional Kenyan meal of chapatis and vegetable stew - delicious!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Southhood Guest House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello there,

We the staff of Southhood Guest House wish to thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Nairobi. It felt to us like we were a big happy family!
Thank you very much.
Also, thank you for taking time to drop a review on TripAdvisor, thank you very much for that honor.
We are delighted to learn that you immensely enjoyed your stay with us, we welcome you with open arms to stay with us again next time you are in Nairobi.
We shall be sure to offer more of our African delights.

Once again, Thank you very much, it was a great pleasure to be your host.

Gladys & Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were a group of 13 that arrived from overseas so were exhausted when we got there. Gladys picked us up at the airport and made sure that we had snacks upon our arrival. She had all of our rides to and from the airport worked out and as well had arranged for a taxi to a restaurant we had wanted to go to. She was extremely friendly and helpful. The guest house was felt very safe and had adequate space for everyone with bathroom facilities for most of the rooms. There is a beautiful lounge area. It was nice to be so close to the airport since we had a very early morning flight. I would highly recommend the Southhood Guest house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Southhood Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Parry,

We wish to take this opportunity to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to offer your honest views about our facility on TripAdvisor, the largest stop for travelers worldwide. Thank you Very Much.
We are immensely honored to hear that you valued and enjoyed our services. It was indeed our pleasure to have hosted your team!
Our pledge to all our very valued guests is a commitment to offer our very best to make our guest feel valued, in safe hands and cared for.

Thank you very much for your patronage, we loved hosting your team and we hope to be your hosts on your next trip to Kenya.

Asante Sana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here immensely. A weary traveller, I enjoyed the excellent bathroom facilities.
The pick-up and return to the airport is a good service. The meals were good. The hostess was
interested in making the stay a good experience.
It is not a place to stay for great scenery, but for a traveller who wanted safe, comfortable accommodation within easy access to the airport, it was ideal. It was very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southhood Villa S, Manager at Southhood Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking your time to make a comment on TripAdvisor.
This effort did not go unnoticed.
We are glad to read that indeed you enjoyed the hospitality offered at the Southhood Guest Villa. We at the Southhood Guest Villa are continually working to offer our guests the best comfort away from their homes.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed a good African meal... and yes, our proximity to the airport makes for a quick ride to the airport so you don't have to struggle through the sometimes crazy Nairobi traffic.

Again, thank you very much. We hope to be your host on your next visit to Africa and again it was a great pleasure being your host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southhood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southhood Guest House

Address: Balozi Lane 54, Nairobi 254, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southhood Villa is a modern facility located along the busy Nairobi-Mombasa highway. We have five tastefully furnished rooms with a harmonizing luxury and comfort. The ambiance at the Southhood Villa evokes a sense of serenity and tranquility. All rooms are competitively priced with 24hr check in/out, free WIFI, Free Cable and local TV, Laundry services, 24hr airport transfers, ironing, ample and secure parking ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southhood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southhood Guest House to your Saves list