We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southhood Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southhood Guest House
Save Saved
You added Southhood Guest House to your Saves list
Balozi Lane 54, Nairobi 254, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 157 Nairobi B&B and Inns
San Gimignano, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“night in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We staied only one night because we had a flight to come back home.
It is five kilometers to the airport and it is very confortable.
To come in is necessary a taxi .
The Menager,Gladys,is very friendly and wellcoming.She prepared for us a very good tipical tea for breackfast.

Persio e Simona

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southhood Villa S, Owner at Southhood Guest House, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Hello Simona and thank you very much for your review.
We appreciate your taking time to comment on our services.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
We are elated that you had a good experience at the Southhood Villa and we were honored to be your host on the last night of your trip.
On behalf of our manager, Gladys, we say Karibu sana (meaning 'you are most welcome')

We appreciate it that you loved our typical Kenyan tea- Kenyan tea is rated very high in the world and we offer the best quality we have straight from the tea auction.

You are most welcome to stay with us on your next visit to Kenya.
We promise to surpass your expectations even further.

Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Dickson Traveller

Stayed at the Villa in May 2012 with wife and two young ones. We needed a family/kid friendly place, a kitchen, serenity, safety and proximity to town. We got all that and some. The staff was very accomodating. The hosts even helped us with the little ones, harried as they were in their new surroundings. The host also gracefully became our unpaid local guide on cuisine and sight-seeing on the occassions we ventured into the city. Finally; since the place is right by the way to the airport, it is only a 15/20 minute quick ride to catch one's flight. In the infamous crawling Nairobi traffic, that is heaven-sent. We are definitely looking forward to staying there on our next visit in 2013.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southhood Villa S, Owner at Southhood Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hello Rodgers,
I wish to take this opportunity on behalf of myself, the staff and management at the Southhood Guest Villa first for electing to stay with us and second for your review on this forum.
We are delighted that you loved and enjoyed your stay with us- You are most welcome.
We were delighted to host you with the kids who made the place lively and kicking. Say a big thank you to your wife and her sisters. We appreciated having them around.

We at the Southhood Guest Villa are continually looking to improve and surpass our guest expectations.

Again, thank you very much and we look forward to hosting you come your visit 2013.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

South Hood is in Nairobi Kenya, right next to a big Winners Chapel in Balozi, South B estate. It is the most quiet and affordable guest house where you relax and feel like at home after that long flight or drive. Strategically located along Mombasa road, it is just 15 minutes drive to JKIA/Wilson Airport. It has full time wireless internet access, lovely attendants, clean and quiet. I can't afford to miss a night at South Hood whenever I visit Nairobi.

Visit South Hood Guest house the next time you visit Nairobi Kenya.
Enjoy.
Koert

Room Tip: Request for the rooms with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Owner at Southhood Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hello Koert,

I wish to express my gratitude on behalf of the staff and management of Southhood Guest house.
First for choosing to stay with us, Thank you.
Second, Thank you very much for your kind comments, we appreciate.
We at the Southhood Guest House always endeavor to offer our guests the most memorable stay away from their homes. We are continually working to surpass our guest expectations.

Once again, Thank you and you are welcome to stay with us again during your next Visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The staff of the Southhood Guest House were great - very accommodating and friendly! The place itself was clean, with good mosquito nets, a comfy bed, and full-running kitchen. Breakfast in the mornings was filling, as were other meals if you chose to pay for them (very reasonably priced). The house itself is well-maintained, and there is even an optional laundry service. Having free Wifi was amazing! The neighborhood is safe, with a convenient grocery store and restaurant right next door. It is easy to take a matatu (minibus) into town, but a bit more challenging to take a bus back from town to the guest house. Taxis to-from town cost 700 ksh ($8.4), which can be a bit costly if you don't want to take the bus. That is the only downside I can think of, is its distance from the downtown area. But honestly, the bus was very convenient to take in the mornings. The place has a living room with TV and plenty of outlets for your computer. The internet worked great! This place is used a lot by college-age volunteers from all over the world, which makes for good conversation with others. I would highly recommend this place for either a short stay or longer stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wambui M, Manager at Southhood Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi Graciela,
I wish to thank you very much for your review on our facility,
THANK YOU.
We are glad to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating, it is our pleasure to be at your service at all time.
Regarding our services on sight i.e WI-FI, laundry, thanks much for the compliments.
We are continually looking to improve on these services in order to offer impeccable service to our customers at all times.
We are very glad that you had a good time at the The Southhood Guest House.

We welcome you to stay with us again and again.

Thank you Graciela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I got to this place and was away from my home so that means a place that would make me feel the same would be perfect since I was on a work trip.

I spent more than a month at the Southhood Guest house and it was a great induction for me in a new country. I felt so much at home since there was always someone to find out how I was doing and offering all the help they can to make my stay perfectly homely.

There are things and places that act as defining moment for your life and being at this guest house defined my stay in a new country. I would recommend it any day for anyone who is looking for a place that would give them the homely comfort that is good to your pocket and still good to your feel.

I am planning on another trip there sooner than later just to enjoy the quiet, clean and excellent class service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wambui M, Manager at Southhood Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hello and Thank you very much for your review.
We highly appreciate that.
We are pleased to note that you had a great time at the Southhood Villa- indeed Home away from Home- and that is precisely what the Southhood is supposed to be, Home away from home.
We are very happy to note that our hospitality has actually defined your stay in this country,
THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
We are indeed excited that you will be staying with us soon- you are most welcome.

Once again, Thank you and KARIBU SANA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southhood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southhood Guest House

Address: Balozi Lane 54, Nairobi 254, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southhood Villa is a modern facility located along the busy Nairobi-Mombasa highway. We have five tastefully furnished rooms with a harmonizing luxury and comfort. The ambiance at the Southhood Villa evokes a sense of serenity and tranquility. All rooms are competitively priced with 24hr check in/out, free WIFI, Free Cable and local TV, Laundry services, 24hr airport transfers, ironing, ample and secure parking ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southhood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.