We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit too much concrete” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites

Save Saved
You added PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Church Road, Westland's, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A bit too much concrete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The rooms are nice - big and spacious; plenty of hot water and clean sheets and towels. Restaurant has nice (but expensive) food. Staff were great. Television exists - all the football and cricket you could want (but not a bit of newws). It provides a real challenge to taxi drivers to find - could do with some better positioned signs (but that's only a little thing to complain about). Unfortunately the whole place outside is a bit of a building site, and what open spaces do exist, they are completely cemented in - a pity considering all the neighbouring plots appear to be lush and green.

Room Tip: The higher up and further away from reception you go, the less noisy it gets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Prideinn Lantana is an excellent suite hotel with all the facilities and ammonites that a business person would need. The staff are very friendly and service is incredible.
They are building a heated pool and also gym facilities which will make stay even more comfortable.
The good served in the restaurant is excellent

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came to this hotel late in the evening after landing at the airport. What we should have received was a pleasant, clean hotel in which to rest our tired bodies. What we actually got was very different.

First of all, despite having booked the hotel and prepaid for it through a local Nairobi travel agent weeks ago, the woman at the desk could not find our reservation. She adamantly claimed it wasn't there, and we stood in the (small, dirty) reception area for 40 minutes while she called around to the other PrideInn hotels in Nairobi. We finally agreed that she would find us rooms, and we could sort out the rest in the morning.

The rooms were... disgusting. My dad's room had no electricity and was pitch black, so at 11:00 at night he is was outside on the landing trying to sort through his suitcase before going in to the room. Our room was dilapidated, and smelled awful. They actually had urinal pucks scattered around the floor of the bathroom / shower! There were holes in the walls and ceilings, and the beds had worn sheets and one thin pillow. After taking a shower we couldn't get the water to turn off, so we had to get help from the reception area.

Next morning it went on. The (same) receptionist magically located our reservation once our travel agent showed up in person. No apologies were made. She could not, however, figure out how to call our room and had to walk over to get us. We got out of there as fast as we could, but not without one of the reception goons running after our car to make sure we had paid our bill. Which as I stated before had been prepaid.

Awful, awful place. The worst.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larrykinn2002, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Hilary,

Management do apologize for the inconvenience cause during your visit to PrideInn Lantana.

It is with great concern to realize that despite reserving and making the payment in advance, you experienced unpleasant check-in. This might have been a miscommunication between our reservation and the tour agent with reference to the name used on the reservation.

We heartily empathize for your room condition. But we would like to assure you that our key concern in accommodation is to ensure high standard of hygiene and that is what PrideInn is all about.

On the other hand, we do understand, everything else might have seemed to be the worst simply because of the unpleasant check in. We would like to assure you that the right action will be taken as soon as we conclude our internal findings.

PrideInn Hotels & Conferencing does not encourage unprofessional attitude. Our goal in customer handling is to ensure that we not only satisfy the need and provide the value, but create a good relationship with our clients.

We appreciate your views and time you took to address the issue. Lawrence Kinyua, Group Training & Development Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

By far the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel

Positives
Location of the hotel is okay though most taxi’s find it hard locating the place
The breakfast is okay and the kitchen staff are friendly
Negatives
- Very unwelcoming receptionists though I must point out its one particular lady, the rest are fine and the night staff are exceptional.
- Made a reservation and yet when I arrived 1st time there was no room, 2nd the reserved room was not available and the final straw was the 3rd time where I was made to sit for 2 hours after 8 hour flight while they cleaned my room despite having made a reservation days in advance.
- The room was sub-standard, reeking of cigarettes and the toilet is forever breaking
- The shower head need replacing and the shower curtains just look unhygienic.
- They are currently constructing a gym right next to the outdoor restaurant/kitchen so be prepared for dust.
- The rooms are set up like apartments but with a kitchen that has no fridge or cooking utensils
- Noise levels from the construction
-
I wouldn’t recommend anyone to stay at this hotel as it’s expensive and the services they provide don’t match up to what you pay.

Room Tip: only stick to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We do apologize for the inconvenince caused as a result of a couple of issues you raised. Lantana being one of our recently opened Hotel, we had a slight challenge with some installations especially the plumbing unit in a few room. So far this challenge has been fully addressed and we promise hassle free stay next time.

We have taken note of your experience with the front desk.. The lady's attitude as well as the handling of your reservation especially on arrival and this has also been fully addressed according to our standards.

The construction of the Gym, conference facilities and the swimming pool is nearly complete and be assured of no dust in the rooms.

Since the facility is actually a hotel, we prefer not to equip all the room kitchens with the cooking utensils but we ensure a fridge in the rooms. Though We provide the cooking utensils upon request.

However, We are evaluating the option of fully equiping the kitchenette. We look forward to hosting you soon in a hassle free environment guarantee. Lawrence Kinyua, Group Training & development manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was booked by organizers of a workshop I was to attend to stay at Prideinn Lantana...and if I'd known what I would get, I would have begged to stay elsewhere. NO hot water (and at the height of winter in Nairobi...), freezing cold room, set up like a flat but no cooking facilities or fridge. Food at the restaurant was terrible, and the taxi drivers called to take me places over-charged (I have spent a lot of time visiting Nairobi over the past 12 years). Day time staff had a "laissez faire" attitude, though some of the night staff were super, going out of their way to help with internet access, trying to solve the (non-functioning) hot water heater. Oh, and zero in the way of exercise facilities. If you can stay elsewhere...do!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We fully understand your experience and Management do apologize for the inconvenience that might have been caused. All the water heating system has been improved and fresh intallations fitted including solar power.

As you mentioned, most of our staff are super and we are stopping at nothing to ensure all the staff match our expectations as per the set standards. A new chef has now taken over the kitchen and currently doing wonders.

Am sure you would like to give us another chance. Lawrence Kinyua, Group Training & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This list itself as a 3 star hotel. I stayed at Lantana Location--was not close to 3 star. Room was small and very average. Bed very hard--though big. Water bottles were smalllest I have ever seen. Did have cable and flat screen TV--probably only thing close to 3 star.
Bfast was okay--but other meals tried there was below par. More like Motel 6 in USA. Third location (Raptha Rd) my friend stayed out was much worst. His TV was old box type and whole room needed updating.
I think main hotel on Westlands Rd may have been better. Price was high for value. Charging 9K ksh per night for this. Did move me to like suite after I complained, but first 4 nights was this tiny room. Will not stay there again for that price or anything close to that. Worth 3K.

Room Tip: Make sure if you go here that you get suite--but try to avoid. Much better hotels for that price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Simba22, Management appreciate your time and review. We regret to learn that you were unhappy with a few amenities especially the size of the room and 3 star requirement as you found them. You will be glad to note that we have carried out major engineering in the rooms and currently, we are about to complete a heated swimming pool, conference facilities among other amenities.

Kindly note that we do have a number of room types and they all vary in sizes as well. A superior room that you were booked in, could be smaller than the one and two bedrooms of which they are more. Lantana basically is a suites hotel and therefore, the size of the rooms was highly considered.

We promise to upgrade your reservation next time you stay with us. Lawrence Kinyua, Group Training & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

First off, you must know that there are THREE hotels in Westlands alone by the name of PrideInn - I can only speak for one of them 'Pride Inn Lantana Suites'. The Suites are actually full apartments, you get a kitchen, a full bedroom a bathroom and a lounge. However, the kitchen is not equipped and does not even have a kettle therefore negating the value of the facilities. (sad - but the addition of a kettle would have been sensible, bed and breakfasts can manage a kettle - am sure an apartment should be fitted with one). The Suite is very pleasant, and relativly clean - there is some additional work that needs to happen on the cleaning front - as ones feet are left very very dirty if you walk around your apartment without shoes. Also - there was pubic hair around the bath when I arrived, in addition to this NONE of the drains drained, which meant showering in ankle deep dirty water. Although the infrastructure is good, and these have the possibility of being actually very nice - more needs to be done on the service side. This is worth a stay - and it was comfortable - but some things to be aware of. The restaurant is VERY slow - order ahead.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the top floor - if you are below any one - it is very noisy - as you can hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Prideinn Hotel Lantana would like to take a chance to invite guests who were particularly unhappy with our services during their first time to revisit our hotel. We assure our guest that Prideinn Management was particularly concerned about the complaints and we have taken a string of new measures to ensure improved quality of service. Our staff have been trained on better customer handling techniques, we now have a fully functioning 24 hours front office desk to handle all guest queries within the shortest time possible, we also have a young, intelligent and enthusiastic hotel manager whom will not go to sleep until all the guests in the hotel are fully settled.
We would also like to ensure our guest that in case of any complaints and investigations confirm the complaints then the guests would be refunded 50% of the amount paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites

Address: East Church Road, Westland's, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Prideinn Hotels & Conferencing Lantana is an all suite Hotel which includes a separate living room, dining room, Kitchen and bedroom, and are equipped with wireless high speed internet and Direct Dial Telephone Line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, T4B and Tingo so you can book your PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.